New Arrivals: Picture Books

Search

Search form

We Don't Eat Our Classmates!

We Don't Eat Our Classmates!

by Higgins, Ryan T. / Disney-Hyperion

It's the first day of school for Penelope Rex, and she can't wait to meet her classmates. But it's hard to make human friends when they're so darn delicious That is, until Penelope gets a taste of her own medicine and finds she may not be at the top of the food chain after all. . . . Readers will gobble up this hilarious new story from award-winning author-illustrator Ryan T.…

Check Our Catalog
The Gingerbread Man Loose at the Zoo

The Gingerbread Man Loose at the Zoo

by Murray, Laura / G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

Is there anything more fun than a class trip to the zoo? The Gingerbread Man and his classmates don't think so, and they get to solve riddles on a WILD scavenger hunt. They meet giraffes, monkeys, and even a fox (especially scary for a Gingerbread Man ). But a zoo full of critters is a tricky place for a tasty cookie--even a very fast one--and the Gingerbread Man ends up separated from his friends. He needs to solve all of the riddles to catch up with his class and help someone else who is lost. I'll be a detective. I know that I can I'll solve all these clues. I'm the Gingerbread Man Animals galore and a trail of clues make the Gingerbread Man's latest…

Check Our Catalog
Harriet Gets Carried Away

Harriet Gets Carried Away

by Sima, Jessie / Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

From the author/illustrator of the bestselling "Not Quite Narwhal." While shopping with her two dads for supplies for her birthday party, Harriet, who is wearing a penguin costume, is carried away by a waddle of penguins and must hatch a plan to get herself back to the store in the city. Full…

Check Our Catalog
Llama Llama Loves to Read

Llama Llama Loves to Read

by Dewdney, Anna / Viking Books for Young Readers

Anna Dewdney's Bestselling Llama Llama series continues with Llama learning to read Llama Llama learns at school. Counting, writing, reading, rules. Friends and school -- there's nothing better. Llama learning all the letters Anna Dewdney's beloved Llama Llama is growing up and learning to read Throughout the school day, the teacher helps Llama Llama and the other children practice their letters, shows word cards, reads stories, and brings them to the library where they can all choose a favorite book. By the end of the day, Llama Llama is recognizing words and can't wait to show Mama Llama that he's becoming a reader…

Check Our Catalog
The Flying Girl: How Aida de Acosta Learned to Soar

The Flying Girl: How Aida de Acosta Learned to Soar

by Engle, Margarita / Atheneum Books for Young Readers

In this beautiful picture book filled with soaring words and buoyant illustrations, award-winners Margarita Engle and Sara Palacios tell the inspiring true story of A da de Acosta, the first woman to fly a motorized aircraft. On a lively street in the lovely city of Paris, a girl named A da glanced up and was dazzled by the sight of an airship. Oh, how she wished she could soar through the sky like that The inventor of the airship, Alberto, invited A da to ride with him, but she didn't want to be a passenger. She wanted to be the pilot. A da was just a teenager, and no woman or girl had ever flown before. She didn't let that stop her, though. All she needed was courage and a…

Check Our Catalog
A Piece of Home

A Piece of Home

by Watts, Jeri / Candlewick Press (MA)

A child-friendly story about the trials and triumphs of starting over in a new place while keeping family and traditions close. When Hee Jun's family moves from Korea to West Virginia, he struggles to adjust to his new home. His eyes are not big and round like his classmates', and he can't understand anything the teacher says, even when she speaks s-l-o-w-l-y and loudly at him. As he lies in bed at night, the sky seems smaller and darker. But little by little Hee Jun begins to learn English words and make friends on the playground. And one day he is invited to a classmate's house, where he sees a flower he knows from his garden in Korea -- mugunghwa, or rose of Sharon,…

Check Our Catalog
Tea with Oliver

Tea with Oliver

by Song, Mika / HarperCollins

An Amazon Best Children's Book of the Month selectionFilled with humor and heart and brought to life with gorgeous watercolor-and-ink illustrations, this book from debut author-illustrator Mika Song shows readers how friends can come in all shapes and sizes and be found in the most unexpected places.Oliver is not like other cats. He likes cookies and tea and just wants a friend to share them with. Philbert is the shy mouse who lives under Oliver's couch. He tries to get Oliver's attention by writing him notes, but Oliver doesn't notice little Philbert. When a full-on cat party erupts at Oliver's apartment, brave Philbert decides this is his big chance to finally…

Check Our Catalog
The Truth about Hippos

The Truth about Hippos

by Eaton, Maxwell / Roaring Brook Press

Did you know that there are two types of hippo: the common hippo and the pygmy hippo (which is like a common hippo but smaller)?Did you know that all hippos live in Africa?Did you know that hippos can't actually swim?Discover these facts and many more in this nonfiction picture-book series that injects humor and bright, vivid animals into popular subjects like bears and…

Check Our Catalog
Animal Ears

Animal Ears

by Holland, Mary / Arbordale Publishing, LLC

Hearing is an important sense for animals' survival. Ears give animals vital information to help them find food or listen for predators ready to attack. This continuation of Mary Holland's award-winning Animal Anatomy and Adaptations series features a wide variety of animal ears and how animals use them. Did you know that some animals have ears on their legs? Like the eyes, mouths, legs, and tails featured in previous books, animal ears come in a wide variety of shapes and sizes--a perfect match for each animal's needs. This nonfiction picture book with a cuddle factor includes a 4-page For Creative Minds section in the back of the book and a 30-page cross-curricular Teaching…

Check Our Catalog
The Truth about Bears

The Truth about Bears

by Eaton, Maxwell / Roaring Brook Press

Maxwell Eaton III's The Truth About Bears is a lighthearted nonfiction picture book, filled with useful facts about bears that will make you laugh so hard you won't even realize you're learning something…

Check Our Catalog
The Truth about Dolphins

The Truth about Dolphins

by Eaton, Maxwell / Roaring Brook Press

Did you know that dolphins find their dinners by using sound to track down the location of their prey?Did you know that baby dolphins are born tail-first?Did you know that each dolphin has a unique whistle (like human fingerprints) that makes them recognizable to other dolphins?Discover these facts and more in The Truth About Dolphins, a new addition to the popular series that combines raucous amounts of humor with a surprising amount of information on beloved animal…

Check Our Catalog
Drawn Together

Drawn Together

by Le, Minh / Disney-Hyperion

When a young boy visits his grandfather, their lack of a common language leads to confusion, frustration, and silence. But as they sit down to draw together, something magical happens-with a shared love of art and storytelling, the two form a bond that goes beyond words. With spare, direct text by Minh L and luminous illustrations by Caldecott Medalist Dan Santat, this stirring picturebook about reaching across barriers will be cherished for years to…

Check Our Catalog
This Is It

This Is It

by Peoples-Riley, Daria / Greenwillow Books

Daria Peoples-Riley's debut picture book is a celebration of individuality, self-expression, and dance. Fans of Misty Copeland's Firebird and Matt de la Pe a's Last Stop on Market Street will want to read it over and over again.When a young dancer is nervous about her upcoming auditions, her shadow springs to life and leads her on a joyous exploration of their city. Soon enough, the young girl finds confidence in her skills, her body, and her ability to shine.With an energetic, rhythmic text that begs to be read aloud and striking, exuberant artwork, This Is It is a love story to originality and the simple joy of movement.The future is in your footsteps.Freedom is in your…

Check Our Catalog
There's a Tiger in the Garden

There's a Tiger in the Garden

by Stewart, Lizzy / Houghton Mifflin

A gorgeous and imaginative debut picture book by author/illustrator Lizzy Stewart, perfect for fans of Emily Hughes, Peter Brown, and Julie Morstad. There's nothing to do at Grandma's house and Nora refuses to believe any outlandish tales of dragonflies as big as birds, grumpy polar bears who like to fish, or a magnificent tiger all allegedly residing in Grandma's garden. Nora's too old for silly games. But this charming picture book proves you are never too young or too old to dream--and adventure can find you when you least expect it. When Grandma says she's seen a tiger in the garden, Nora doesn't believe her. She's too old to play Grandma's silly…

Check Our Catalog