New Arrivals: Picture Books

Search

Search form

Giraffe Problems

Giraffe Problems

by John, Jory / Random House Books for Young Readers

Penguins aren't the only animals with problems. . . . A second hilarious collaboration from picture-book superstars Lane Smith and Jory John Can you guess what's making this giraffe self-conscious? Could it be . . . HIS ENORMOUS NECK Yes, it's exactly that--how on earth did you figure it out? Edward the giraffe can't understand why his neck is as long and bendy and, well, ridiculous as it is. No other animal has a neck this absurd. He's tried disguising it, dressing it up, strategically hiding it behind bushes--honestly, anything you can think of, he's tried. Just when he has exhausted his neck-hiding options and is about to throw in the towel, a turtle swoops…

Check Our Catalog
Milo's Hat Trick

Milo's Hat Trick

by Agee, Jon / Dial Books

Milo the Magnificent's magic act isn't so magnificent after all, until he meets a bear who teaches him the secret to the perfect hat trick in this classic and critically acclaimed picture book, now in a new edition. Full…

Check Our Catalog
Imagine

Imagine

by Herrera, Juan Felipe / Candlewick Press (MA)

A buoyant, breathtaking poem from Juan Felipe Herrera -- brilliantly illustrated by Caldecott Honoree Lauren Castillo -- speaks to every dreaming heart. Have you ever imagined what you might be when you grow up? When he was very young, Juan Felipe Herrera picked chamomile flowers in windy fields and let tadpoles swim across his hands in a creek. He slept outside and learned to say good-bye to his amiguitos each time his family moved to a new town. He went to school and taught himself to read and write English and filled paper pads with rivers of ink as he walked down the street after school. And when he grew up, he became the United States Poet Laureate and read his poems aloud on the steps…

Check Our Catalog
Interrupting Chicken and the Elephant of Surprise

Interrupting Chicken and the Elephant of Surprise

by Stein, David Ezra / Candlewick Press (MA)

Surprise The little red chicken is back -- and as endearingly silly as ever -- in David Ezra Stein's follow-up to the Caldecott Honor-winning Interrupting Chicken. It's homework time for the little red chicken, who has just learned about something every good story should have: an elephant of surprise. Or could it be an element of surprise (as her amused papa explains)? As they dive in to story after story, looking for the part that makes a reader say "Whoa I didn't know that was going to happen," Papa is sure he can convince Chicken he's right. After all, there are definitely no elephants in "The Ugly Duckling," "Rapunzel," or "The Little Mermaid" -- or are there?…

Check Our Catalog
A Parade of Elephants

A Parade of Elephants

by Henkes, Kevin / Greenwillow Books

New York Times-bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five joyful elephants as they march from dawn to dusk. Where are they going? Read and find out This engaging picture book is just right for the youngest reader and is a perfect choice for story time and bedtime sharing. Up and down, over and under, through and around . . . five big and brightly colored elephants are on a mission in this picture book for young children by Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes. Where are they going? What will they do when they get there? It's a surprise With a text shimmering with repetition and rhythm, bright pastel illustrations, large and readable type, and an adorable parade of…

Check Our Catalog
Blue

Blue

by Seeger, Laura Vaccaro / Roaring Brook Press

How many shades of blue are there?There's the soft blue of a baby's cherished blanket, the ocean blue of a romp in the waves, the chilly blue of a cold winter's walk in the snow, and the true blue of the bond that exists between children and animals.In this simple, sumptuously illustrated companion to Caldecott Honor Book Green, award-winning artist Laura Vaccaro Seeger turns her attention to the ways in which color evokes emotion, and in doing so tells the story of one special and enduring…

Check Our Catalog
Bear's House of Books

Bear's House of Books

by Bishop, Poppy / Tiger Tales

Check Our Catalog
Found Dogs

Found Dogs

by Sirotich, Erica / Dial Books

For fans of Sandra Boynton's Doggies and Karent Katz's Counting Kisses, this adorable rhyming and counting book tallies up all the dogs at the shelter, and then counts backward as the pups are adopted--a perfect fit for every preschooler's library. Babies and toddlers will delight in counting up each wriggly, wraggly rescue pup and then counting back down as each doggie is adopted. A bright, bouncy rhyme, jubilant art, and scads of adorable dogs will have wee ones giggling for more. These patient pound dogs. Now they're family Found…

Check Our Catalog
Zola's Elephant

Zola's Elephant

by de Seve, Randall / Houghton Mifflin

Illustrated by two-time Caldecott-honor winning artist Pamela Zagarenski, this tender, witty friendship story of imagination gone wild, by New York Times bestselling author Randall de S ve, shows how assumptions often cause us to misjudge--and miss out. But with a little courage, new opportunities and new friendships can be made. When Zola moves into the neighborhood, her new next-door neighbor is too shy to go over and introduce herself. Plus, Zola already has a friend to play with--an elephant What we imagine is not always true, as the little girl discovers. Luckily, she also discovers that being brave can lead to new friendships--and even richer imaginary worlds--in this heartwarming…

Check Our Catalog
Chugga Chugga Choo Choo

Chugga Chugga Choo Choo

by Garcia, Emma / Boxer Books

Chugga chugga choo choo. Here comes the train. And it's rolling down the tracks in this vibrant picture book Follow it along and count the birds that join the trip. All aboard, and all join in as the cheerful little train chugs past the seaside, the farm, the forest, the city, and into the station for a nice long rest. Along the way, a flock of noisy seagulls and blackbirds, pigeons and geese hop on for the ride. Kids will have fun looking at Emma Garcia's colorful, collaged landscapes and counting all the honking, cooing, tweeting…

Check Our Catalog
The Day You Begin

The Day You Begin

by Woodson, Jacqueline / Nancy Paulsen Books

Jacqueline Woodson is the 2018-2019 National Ambassador for Young People's Literature A #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson and two-time Pura Belpr Illustrator Award winner Rafael L pez have teamed up to create a poignant, yet heartening book about finding courage to connect, even when you feel scared and alone. There will be times when you walk into a room and no one there is quite like you. There are many reasons to feel different. Maybe it's how you look or talk, or where you're from; maybe it's what you eat, or something just as random. It's not easy to take those first steps into a place where nobody really knows you…

Check Our Catalog
Tallulah's Ice Skates

Tallulah's Ice Skates

by Singer, Marilyn / Clarion Books

Tallulah heads out into a winter wonderland to go ice skating and finds out that having fun is sometimes more important than being the best, in this new, snowy addition to the popular Tallulah series. Tallulah is an accomplished ballerina, but she also loves to skate. After all, skating's a lot like ballet--challenging, graceful, and glamorous. Tallulah is positive that with some hard work, she and her friend Kacie will be just as good on the ice as they are at dance. They'll be Super Skaters But Kacie doesn't want to rehearse fancy moves; she wants to have fun. So Tallulah practices by herself. That is, until an encounter with a talented boy, which ends with an embarrassing…

Check Our Catalog
Naptastrophe!

Naptastrophe!

by Krosoczka, Jarrett J. / Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

From the author of National Book Award finalist Hey, Kiddo. From the creator of Punk Farm and the acclaimed Lunch Lady graphic novel series comes a hilarious romp about one little girl's insistence that she does NOT need a nap. It's a tale as old as time--naptime, that is. Lucy is not tired, not tired, NOT tired. She is not going to nap today. Lucy is an expert at staying awake. But when running errands with her dad, it's suddenly way too LOUD. The lights in the store are way too bright. It's . . . a naptastrophe With vibrant, charming illustrations and a relatable main character, this hilarious story is the perfect reminder to parents and kids that you only miss…

Check Our Catalog
Many Moons: Learn about the Different Phases of the Moon

Many Moons: Learn about the Different Phases of the Moon

by Courgeon, Remi / Walter Foster Jr

Many Moons explores every phase of the moon through beautiful illustrations, and compares each phase to a different shape, such as a waxing moon and a banana Many Moons shows young children the different phases of the moon, from the new moon to a waning crescent, with a variety of beautiful, bright illustrations. Each spread features a specific phase of the moon, and compares it to different shapes, such as a cat's tail, a banana, or a brilliant smile. The night sky is vast and beautiful, and to many children, a mysterious thing full of wonder. Why not nurture this sense of early curiosity? Many Moons introduces children to basic astronomy. Understanding the moon is a jumping off point…

Check Our Catalog