Research Databases
| Need HELP? Call the Reference Desk at 978-456-4114. |
![]() List of Online Resources by SUBJECT |
![]() List of Online Resources A- Z |
|
|
![]() |
|
|
![]() |
|
![]() Grove Art Online |
|
![]() |
Novelist: Find a Book to Read! |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]()
Databases by Subject:
|
Art & Music |
|
American History
Gale:
Gale Biography in Context
Gale US History in Context
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Massachusetts History Online
Sharpe -- US History and Culture: (Please call the library for password and login information.)
American Folklife
American Presidential Campaigns and Elections (1788-2008)
American Social Movements
Civil War Era and Reconstruction (1861-1877)
Colonial America (1492-1783)
Gilded Age and Progressive Era (1877-1919)
The Great Depression and New Deal (1929-1941)
Jazz Age (1919-1929)
Postwar America (1945 - Present)
Settlement of America (1607-1890)
Social Issues in America
Grove Art Online - Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). It offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
Salem History - Musicians & Composers - Biographical profiles of important figures in all genres of music of the 20th century (Please call the library for password and login information.)
Biographies
Gale Biography in Context
Salem History - Musicians & Composers- Biographical profiles of important figures in all genres of music of the 20th century (Please call the library for password and login information.)
Business & Finance
The Boston Globe
Gale Business Insights: Essentials
General Business File ASAP
The New York Times
Online Public Library Edition
Online Public Library Edition: Kids
Online School Edition
Elementary School Edition
Middle School Edition
High School Edition
Learning Zone
Spanish Reference Center
Spanish Edition: Escolar (K-8)
Spanish Edition: Moderna (9-12)
Annals of American History
World Data Analyst
New England Genealogical Society Databases (In-library use only)
InfoTrac Power Search: Search one or any combination of Gale Databases
Academic OneFile
Educator Reference Complete
Expanded Academic ASAP
Gale Infotrac General OneFile
General Reference Center Gold
Health
Gale Health and Wellness Resource Center
Gale - Health Reference Center Academic
Gale - Nursing Resource Center
Salem Health Databases: (Please call the library for password and login information.)
Addictions & Substance Abuse
Genetics
Magill's Medical Guide
Psychology and Mental Health
InfoTrac Gale Databases
InfoTrac Power Search: Search one or any combination of Gale Databases ![]()
Issues & Controversies
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Junior Edition - K12
Kids InfoBits
Academic OneFile
Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select
Literature Resource Center
The Boston Globe
The New York Times
Maps
A to Z Maps
(Enter library card # for login. Note: Patron card numbers beginning with "D" must be capitalized.)
Reading Suggestions
Books & Authors
NoveList - NoveList is a comprehensive online readers’ advisory tool. Patrons can search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides and more.
Science
Salem Science: Encyclopedia of Global Resources
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Science in Context
Science Online - Facts on File Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
World Geography
A to Z Maps
(Enter library card # for login. Note: Patron card numbers beginning with "D" must be capitalized.)
Academic OneFile
The Boston Globe
Gale Infotrac General OneFile
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Global Issues in Context
The New York Times
Salem Science: Encyclopedia of Global Resources
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Science in Context
Science Online
Sharpe -- Global History and Culture: (Please call the library for password and login information.)
Booms and Busts: Economic Hisotry (1630s-Present)
Civilizations and Societies: Ancient and Modern Worlds
Conflicts Since World War II
Global History: Cultural Encounters
Global Social Issues
Native Peoples of the World
World Food
World Monarchies and Dynasties
World Terrorism
World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present
World History
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale World History in Context
Sharpe -- Global History and Culture: (Please call the library for password and login information.)
Booms and Busts: Economic Hisotry (1630s-Present)
Civilizations and Societies: Ancient and Modern Worlds
Conflicts Since World War II
Global History: Cultural Encounters
Global Social Issues
Native Peoples of the World
World Food
World Monarchies and Dynasties
World Terrorism
World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present
Databases A - Z:
A to Z Maps
(Enter library card # for login. Note: Patron card numbers beginning with "D" must be capitalized.)
American Folklife
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
American Presidential Campaigns and Elections (1788-2008)
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
American Social Movements
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Booms and Busts: Economic History (1630s-Present)
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Civilizations and Societies: Ancient and Modern Worlds
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Colonial America (1492-1783)
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Conflicts Since World War II
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Contemporary Literary Criticism - Select
Encyclopedia Britannica Links:
Online Public Library Edition
Online Public Library Edition: Kids
Online School Edition
Elementary School Edition
Middle School Edition
High School Edition
Learning Zone
Spanish Reference Center
Spanish Edition: Escolar (K-8)
Spanish Edition: Moderna (9-12)
Annals of American History
World Data Analyst
Gilded Age and Progressive Era (1877-1919)
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Global History: Cultural Encounters
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Global Social Issues
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Grove Art Online - Grove Art Online provides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). It offers ongoing additions of new and updated articles, over 3,000 thumbnail art images and line drawings displayed in the text of articles, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
The Great Depression and New Deal (1929-1941)
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Health and Wellness Resource Center
Health Reference Center Academic
Infotrac Power Search: Search one or any combination of Gale Databases
Jazz Age (1919-1929)
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Native Peoples of the World
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
New England Genealogical Society Databases
NoveList - NoveList is a comprehensive online readers’ advisory tool. Patrons can search among hundreds of thousands of popular fiction titles, and also retrieve author read-alikes, book lists, book discussion guides and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Postwar America (1945 - Present)
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Salem Health Databases
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Addictions & Substance Abuse
Genetics
Magill's Medical Guide
Psychology and Mental Health
Salem History - Musicians & Composers
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Salem Science: Encyclopedia of Global Resources
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
Science Online - Facts on File Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
Social Issues in America
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
TumbleBook Library - A collection of TumbleBooks (animated, talking picture books), Read-Alongs, Ebooks which may be viewed online, and Tumble Puzzles & Games.
World Food
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
World History in Context
World Monarchies and Dynasties
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
World Terrorism
(Please call the library for password and login information.)
World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present
(Please call the library for password and login information.)













