Teens New Arrivals

Search

Search form

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy

The Lady's Guide to Petticoats and Piracy

by Lee, Mackenzi / Katherine Tegen Books

In this highly anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestselling The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue, Felicity Montague must use all her womanly wits and wiles to achieve her dreams of becoming a doctor--even if she has to scheme her way across Europe to do it. A must-have for fans of Mackenzi Lee's extraordinary and Stonewall Honor-winning novel.A year after an accidentally whirlwind grand tour with her brother Monty, Felicity Montague has returned to England with two goals in mind--avoid the marriage proposal of a lovestruck suitor from Edinburgh and enroll in medical school. However, her intellect and passion will never be enough in the eyes of the administrators, who…

Check Our Catalog
Eyes and Spies: How You're Tracked and Why You Should Know

Eyes and Spies: How You're Tracked and Why You Should Know

by Lloyd Kyi, Tanya / Annick Press

Written for middle-grade and older readers, Eyes and Spies looks at the way information and data about us is collected and used by individuals, governments, companies, and organizations. Each chapter covers one aspect of the subject, from data collection to computer surveillance to personal privacy. Arguments for both increased security and increased privacy are offered, which encourages readers to think critically about issues and decide for themselves.The book asks three simple questions: Who's watching, and why? Where is the line between public and private? How can you keep your secrets to yourself? "Creepy Line" sidebars highlight controversial real-life scenarios and ask readers…

Check Our Catalog
I Am a Secret Service Agent: My Life Spent Protecting the President

I Am a Secret Service Agent: My Life Spent Protecting the President

by Emmett, Dan / St. Martin's Griffin

Dan Emmett was just eight years old when President John F. Kennedy was assassinated. From that moment forward, he knew he wanted to become a Secret Service agent, one of an elite group of highly trained men and women dedicated to preserving the life of the President of the United States at any cost, including sacrificing their own lives if necessary. Armed with single-minded determination and a never-quit attitude, he did just that. Selected over thousands of other highly qualified applicants to become an agent, he was eventually chosen to be one of the best of the best and provided protection worldwide for Presidents George Herbert Walker Bush, William Jefferson Clinton, and George W.…

Check Our Catalog
Last Pick

Last Pick

by Walz, Jason / First Second

In this first volume of Jason Walz's dystopian graphic novel trilogy, the kids last picked are humanity's last hope. Three years ago, aliens invaded Earth and abducted everyone they deemed useful. The only ones spared were those too young, too old, or too "disabled" to be of value. Living on Earth under the aliens' harsh authoritarian rule, humanity's rejects do their best to survive. Their captors never considered them a threat--until now.Twins Sam and Wyatt are ready to chuck their labels and start a revolution. It's time for the kids last picked to step into the…

Check Our Catalog
Strange Grace

Strange Grace

by Gratton, Tessa / Margaret K. McElderry Books

Once, a witch made a pact with a devil. The legend says they loved each other, but can the story be trusted at all? Find out in this lush, atmospheric fantasy novel that entwines love, lies, and sacrifice. Long ago, a village made a bargain with the devil: to ensure their prosperity, when the Slaughter Moon rises, the village must sacrifice a young man into the depths of the Devil's Forest. Only this year, the Slaughter Moon has risen early. Bound by duty, secrets, and the love they share for one another, Mairwen, a spirited witch; Rhun, the expected saint; and Arthur, a restless outcast, will each have a role to play as the devil demands a body to fill the bargain. But the devil these…

Check Our Catalog
I Have the Right to: A High School Survivor's Story of Sexual Assault, Justice, and Hope

I Have the Right to: A High School Survivor's Story of Sexual Assault, Justice, and Hope

by Prout, Chessy / Margaret K. McElderry Books

"A bold, new voice." --People "A nuanced addition to the #MeToo conversation." --Vice A young survivor tells her searing, visceral story of sexual assault, justice, and healing in this gutwrenching memoir. The numbers are staggering: nearly one in five girls ages fourteen to seventeen have been the victim of a sexual assault or attempted sexual assault. This is the true story of one of those girls. In 2014, Chessy Prout was a freshman at St. Paul's School, a prestigious boarding school in New Hampshire, when a senior boy sexually assaulted her as part of a ritualized game of conquest. Chessy bravely reported her assault to the police and testified against her attacker in court. Then,…

Check Our Catalog
Always Never Yours

Always Never Yours

by Siegemund-Broka, Austin / Penguin Books

"Every page bursts with humor, squee-inducing romance, and an abiding sense of the deep love and joy of its two writers . . . Always Never Yours is a necessary, feel-good addition to the YA canon."--Entertainment WeeklyMegan Harper is the girl before. All her exes find their one true love right after dating her. It's not a curse or anything, it's just the way things are. and Megan refuses to waste time feeling sorry for herself. Instead, she focuses on pursuing her next fling, directing theater, and fulfilling her dream school's acting requirement in the smallest role possible. But her plans quickly crumble when she's cast as none other than Juliet--yes, that Juliet--in…

Check Our Catalog
Your Own Worst Enemy

Your Own Worst Enemy

by Jack, Gordon / Harperteen

For fans of Andrew Smith and Frank Portman and the movies Election and Ferris Bueller's Day Off comes a hilarious and satirical novel about the highs and (very low) lows of the electoral process, proving that the popular vote is the one that matters most. Stacey Wynn was the clear front-runner for Lincoln High student council president. But then French-Canadian transfer student Julia Romero entered the race...and put the moves on Stacey's best friend/campaign adviser, Brian.Stacey also didn't count on Tony Guo, resident stoner, whose sole focus is on removing the school's ban of his favorite chocolate milk, becoming the voice of the little guy, thanks to a freshman…

Check Our Catalog
What If It's Us

What If It's Us

by Albertalli, Becky / Harperteen

A New York Times, USA Today, and Indie bestseller Critically acclaimed and bestselling authors Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera combine their talents in this smart, funny, heartfelt collaboration about two very different boys who can't decide if the universe is pushing them together--or pulling them apart.ARTHUR is only in New York for the summer, but if Broadway has taught him anything, it's that the universe can deliver a showstopping romance when you least expect it.BEN thinks the universe needs to mind its business. If the universe had his back, he wouldn't be on his way to the post office carrying a box of his ex-boyfriend's things.But when Arthur and Ben…

Check Our Catalog
The War Outside

The War Outside

by Hesse, Monica / Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

New from Monica Hesse, the bestselling and award-winning author of Girl in the Blue Coat--an "important" (New York Times Book Review), "extraordinary" (Booklist, starred review) novel of conviction, friendship, and betrayal "A must-read for fans of historical fiction." --Ruta Sepetys, #1 New York Times bestselling author It's 1944, and World War II is raging across Europe and the Pacific. The war seemed far away from Margot in Iowa and Haruko in Colorado--until they were uprooted to dusty Texas, all because of the places their parents once called home: Germany and Japan. Haruko and Margot meet at the high school in Crystal City, a "family internment camp" for those accused of…

Check Our Catalog
Things I'd Rather Do Than Die

Things I'd Rather Do Than Die

by Hurley Deriso, Christine / Flux

Jade Fulton and Ethan Garrett are opposites in every sense of the word. Ethan is an all-American poster boy--a star athlete dating the most popular girl in school and a devout Christian. Jade keeps mostly to herself. She abhors joining "things," hates everyone at their high school except her best friend, Gia, and considers herself agnostic. When Ethan and Jade find themselves locked in an aerobics room overnight, their confinement forces them to push past the labels they've given each other. Jock. Loner. Jesus freak. Skeptic. Golden boy. Intellectual. Amid hours of arguing, philosophizing, and silly game playing, Ethan and Jade learn there's a lot more to the other person than…

Check Our Catalog
Selfie Made: The Ultimate Guide to Social Media Stardom

Selfie Made: The Ultimate Guide to Social Media Stardom

by Rojas, Meridith / Wednesday Books

HOW DO I MAKE IT BIG ON SOCIAL MEDIA? WHAT IS MY STORY--AND WHO IS MY AUDIENCE? WHAT CONTENT SHOULD I POST TO ACHIEVE #SUCCESS? HOW DO I GO VIRAL...OR HOW LONG WILL IT TAKE ME TO GET NOTICED?Selfie Made is a one-of-a-kind guide to creating a digital identity, finding an audience, and building a powerful brand--your own --on the Internet. Whether you want to be in front of or behind the camera, produce click-worthy content or start your own business, this book is the place to begin. Written by Meridith Valiando Rojas, the hugely successful (and super friendly IRL) founder of DigiTour who has worked with every major star from YouTube to Musical.ly, this collection of personal anecdotes and…

Check Our Catalog
Google It!: How Two Students' Mission to Organize the Internet Changed the World

Google It!: How Two Students' Mission to Organize the Internet Changed the World

by Redding, Anna / Feiwel & Friends

Think. Invent. Organize. Share. Don't be evil. And change the world.Larry Page and Sergey Brin started out as two Stanford college students with a wild idea: They were going to organize the world's information. From that one deceptively simple goal, they created one of the most influential and innovative companies in the world. The word "google" has even entered our vocabulary as a verb. Now, find out the true history of Google--from its humble beginnings as a thesis project made out of "borrowed" hardware and discount toys through its revolution of the world's relationship with technology to a brief glimpse of where they might take us next. In Google It, award-winning…

Check Our Catalog
Here to Stay

Here to Stay

by Farizan, Sara / Algonquin Young Readers

(Fread EB, Hoopla…

Check Our Catalog
Attucks!: Oscar Robertson and the Team That Awakened a City

Attucks!: Oscar Robertson and the Team That Awakened a City

by Hoose, Phillip / MacMillan Audio

(No digital formats…

Check Our Catalog
Sadie

Sadie

by Summers, Courtney / Wednesday Books

A New York Times bestseller A Booklist Top 10 YA Book for Adult Readers One of the Best YA Novels of 2018 by Publishers WeeklyOne of B&N Teen Blog's Best YA Books of 2018Bustle's Best Young Adult Books of 2018Good Morning America's Best Books of 2018In NPR's Guide to 2018's Greatest ReadsIn Paste's 30 Best Young Adult Novels of 2018Nominated for YALSA's 2019 Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers 4 Starred Reviews from Kirkus, School Library Journal, Booklist, Publishers Weekly "Sadie a novel for readers of any age, and a character as indelible as a scar. Flat-out dazzling." --A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window "Sadie…

Check Our Catalog