New Arrivals: Chapter Books

Search

Search form

Saving Winslow

Saving Winslow

by Creech, Sharon / HarperCollins

Indie Next List Pick - ALA Notable Children's Book - Texas Bluebonnet Award Winner"A winning tale of love." --Kirkus (starred review)Perfect for fans of Charlotte's Web and The One and Only Ivan, Saving Winslow is an uplifting modern classic in the making about a young boy who befriends an ailing newborn donkey and nurses him back to health, from New York Times bestseller and Newbery Medal winner Sharon Creech.Louie doesn't have the best luck when it comes to nurturing small creatures. So when his father brings home a sickly newborn mini donkey, he's determined to save him. He names him Winslow. Taking care of him helps Louie feel closer to his brother, Gus, who is far,…

Check Our Catalog
The Collectors

The Collectors

by West, Jacqueline / Greenwillow Books

2019 Schneider Family Book Award Honor BookEven the smallest wish can be dangerous. That's why the Collectors are always keeping watch.The Collectors sweeps readers into a hidden world where wishes are stolen and dreams have a price. Fast-paced, witty, and riveting, this contemporary fantasy adventure has magic woven through every page.It's the first book in a two-book series from Jacqueline West, the New York Times-bestselling author of The Books of Elsewhere series. For fans of Serafina and the Black Cloak, The Isle of the Lost, and The Secret Keepers.Van has always been an outsider. Most people don't notice him. But he notices them. And he notices the small trinkets they…

Check Our Catalog
Rise of the Dragons

Rise of the Dragons

by Sage, Angie / Scholastic Press

Mega bestselling author Angie Sage takes flight with an epic adventure that imagines dragons in the modern world. Includes 9 collectible game cards that unlock an online game The first in a thrilling multi-author series.Mega bestselling author Angie Sage takes flight with an epic adventure that imagines dragons in the modern world. Includes 9 collectible game cards that unlock an online game The first in a thrilling multi-author series. Comes with 9 collectible game cards that allow YOU to join the dragon battle Once our world was full of dragons who lived in harmony with humans. But after a group of rogue dragons, the Raptors, tried to take over Earth, all dragons were banished to…

Check Our Catalog
How I Became a Spy: A Mystery of WWII London

How I Became a Spy: A Mystery of WWII London

by Hopkinson, Deborah / Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

From the award-winning author of The Great Trouble comes a story of espionage, survival, and friendship during World War II. Bertie Bradshaw never set out to become a spy. He never imagined traipsing around war-torn London, solving ciphers, practicing surveillance, and searching for a traitor to the Allied forces. He certainly never expected that a strong-willed American girl named Eleanor would play Watson to his Holmes (or Holmes to his Watson, depending on who you ask). But when a young woman goes missing, leaving behind a coded notebook, Bertie is determined to solve the mystery. With the help of Eleanor and his friend David, a Jewish refugee--and, of course, his trusty pup, Little…

Check Our Catalog
Secret in the Stone

Secret in the Stone

by Benko, Kamilla / Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

"Hand to readers who love Narnia." --School Library Journal on The Unicorn Quest* "Those who love Madeleine L'Engle's A Wrinkle in Time or . . . Neil Gaiman's Coraline, can't miss this debut." --Booklist, starred review, on The Unicorn QuestThe second book in an enchanting fantasy series The Unicorn Quest, about a real-world girl and her sister in a land full of magic and strange creatures.Claire Martinson and her sister Sophie have decided to stay in Arden--the magical land they discovered by climbing up a chimney in their great-aunt's manor. If what they've learned is true, the sisters are the last descendants of the royal family, and only a true heir of Arden--with magic in her…

Check Our Catalog
The Friendship War

The Friendship War

by Clements, Andrew / Random House Books for Young Readers

Stickers, Silly Bandz, Rainbow Looms, fidget spinners . . . buttons? A brand-new school story about friendship and fads from the bestselling author of Frindle. This is war. Okay--that's too dramatic. But no matter what this is called, so far I'm winning.And it feels wonderful. Grace and Ellie have been best friends since second grade. Ellie's always right in the center of everything--and Grace is usually happy to be Ellie's sidekick. But what happens when everything changes? This time it's Grace who suddenly has everyone's attention when she accidentally starts a new fad at school. It's a fad that has first her class, then her grade, and then the entire…

Check Our Catalog
The End of the World and Beyond

The End of the World and Beyond

by Avi / Algonquin Young Readers

Convicted of thievery and transported from England to America, Oliver Cromwell Pitts, shackled to his fellow prisoners, endures inedible food, filthy conditions, and deadly storms on his voyage across the Atlantic. But the hazardous shipboard journey is nothing compared to the peril that waits for him on the colonial shores. In Annapolis, Oliver's indentured servitude is purchased by the foul, miserly Fitzhugh, who may have murdered another servant. On Fitzhugh's isolated tobacco farm, Oliver's only companion is an enslaved boy named Bara. Oliver and Bara become fast friends with one powerful goal: to escape Fitzhugh. Oliver hopes he can find his sister, Charity, brought…

Check Our Catalog
The Unteachables

The Unteachables

by Korman, Gordon / Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

A hilarious new middle grade novel from beloved and bestselling author Gordon Korman about what happens when the worst class of kids in school is paired with the worst teacher--perfect for fans of Ms. Bixby's Last Day. The Unteachables are a notorious class of misfits, delinquents, and academic train wrecks. Like Aldo, with anger management issues; Parker, who can't read; Kiana, who doesn't even belong in the class--or any class; and Elaine (rhymes with pain). The Unteachables have been removed from the student body and isolated in room 117.Their teacher is Mr. Zachary Kermit, the most burned-out teacher in all of Greenwich. He was once a rising star, but his career was…

Check Our Catalog
The Lost Heir: Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #2

The Lost Heir: Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #2

by Sutherland, Tui T. / Graphix

The New York Times bestselling Wings of Fire series soars to new heights in this graphic novel adaptation The lost heir to the SeaWing throne is going home at last. She can't believe it's finally happening. Tsunami and her fellow dragonets of destiny are journeying under the water to the great SeaWing Kingdom. Stolen as an egg from the royal hatchery, Tsunami is eager to meet her future subjects and reunite with her mother, Queen Coral. But Tsunami's triumphant return doesn't go quite the way she'd imagined. Queen Coral welcomes her with open wings, but a mysterious assassin has been killing off the queen's heirs for years, and Tsunami may be the next target.…

Check Our Catalog
A Ray of Light

A Ray of Light

by Wick, Walter / Scholastic Press

A photographic exploration into the beauty and magic of light from the creator of the bestselling A Drop of Water and the Can You See What I See? series.The wonder of light has fascinated readers for ages. Walter Wick's mesmerizing photographs paired with simple yet fascinating text and scientific observations help readers understand the secrets and complexity of light. You will learn what light is made of and how it fits alongside everything else in the world. Walter introduces readers into the mystery behind incandescence, light waves, the color spectrum, and iridescence as well as how we perceive light in our world and beyond. Walter Wick demonstrates that science and art both offer…

Check Our Catalog
Tangled in Time: The Portal

Tangled in Time: The Portal

by Lasky, Kathryn / HarperCollins

"Kathryn Lasky's latest is a sleight-of-hand that will have you clapping your hands. With the brio and big-heart that characterizes all of Lasky's work, this opening salvo of a new series can be heralded with trumpet fanfares and clouds of rose petals." --Gregory Maguire, author of Wicked and Egg & SpoonFor fans of the Royal Diaries series and Gail Carson Levine, Newbery Honor-winning author Kathryn Lasky delivers the first enchanting adventure in a compelling new middle grade series about a newly orphaned girl who finds herself time-travelling between the present day and the court of the two most memorable English princesses in history.Life used to be great for Rose: full of…

Check Our Catalog
The Hive Queen: Wings of Fire, Book 12

The Hive Queen: Wings of Fire, Book 12

by Sutherland, Tui T. / Scholastic Press

Growing up in the hives, Cricket has always had a million questions. Why are trees forbidden, even in art? Why do her parents seem to hate her? And the biggest, most dangerous and secret question of all: why is Cricket immune to Queen Wasp's powers? Whenever the queen takes control of all the HiveWings, speaking through their mouths and seeing through their eyes, Cricket has to hide, terrified of being discovered. Now she's hiding again, wanted for stealing the Book of Clearsight along with her new SilkWing friends, Blue and Swordtail, and the fierce LeafWing, Sundew. The fugitives need answers, and fast, in order to prevent a LeafWing attack. But Cricket has more questions than…

Check Our Catalog
Building Amazing Creations: Sean Kenney's Art with Lego Bricks

Building Amazing Creations: Sean Kenney's Art with Lego Bricks

by Kenney, Sean / Henry Holt & Company

A behind-the-scenes exploration of a master builder's body of work--for LEGO enthusiasts of all ages.Internationally celebrated artist Sean Kenney creates his art with LEGO bricks. Acclaimed by PBS Arts and BBC Arts, Sean has five global touring exhibits of his work and is recognized as one of the greatest builders in the world. Here is a personalized compendium that features an in-depth look at Sean's magnificent creations, from animals, vehicles, and architecture to baseball, robots, and much more. This book is for LEGO enthusiasts of all ages.A Christy Ottaviano…

Check Our Catalog