New Arrivals: Chapter Books

Search

Search form

Dark Was the Night: Blind Willie Johnson's Journey to the Stars

Dark Was the Night: Blind Willie Johnson's Journey to the Stars

by Golio, Gary / Nancy Paulsen Books

The poignant story of Blind Willie Johnson--the legendary Texas musician whose song Dark Was the Night was included on the Voyager I space probe's Golden Record Willie Johnson was born in 1897, and from the beginning he loved to sing--and play his cigar box guitar. But his childhood was interrupted when he lost his mother and his sight. How does a blind boy make his way in the world? Fortunately for Willie, the music saved him and brought him back into the light. His powerful voice, combined with the wailing of his slide guitar, moved people. Willie made a name for himself performing on street corners all over Texas. And one day he hit it big when he got a record deal and his songs…

Check Our Catalog
Honeybee: A Day in the Life of APIs Mellifera

Honeybee: A Day in the Life of APIs Mellifera

by Fleming, Candace / Neal Porter Books

Robert F. Sibert Medal Winner Take to the sky with Apis, one honeybee, as she embarks on her journey through life An Orbis Pictus Honor BookSelected for the Texas Bluebonnnet Master ListFinalist for the AAAS/Subaru SB&F Prize for Excellence in Science Books A tiny honeybee emerges through the wax cap of her cell. Driven to protect and take care of her hive, she cleans the nursery and feeds the larvae and the queen. But is she strong enough to fly? Not yet Apis builds wax comb to store honey, and transfers pollen from other bees into the storage. She defends the hive from invaders. And finally, she begins her new life as an adventurer. The confining walls of the hive fall away as Apis…

Check Our Catalog
Jumbo: The Making of the Boeing 747

Jumbo: The Making of the Boeing 747

by Gall, Chris / Roaring Brook Press

For the 50th anniversary of the Boeing 747's first commercial flight, a picture book about the development of the iconic passenger plane and how it changed the history of air travel. In 1968, the biggest passenger jet the world had ever seen premiered in Everett, Washington. The giant plane was called the Boeing 747, but reporters named it "the Jumbo jet." There was only one problem. It couldn't fly. Yet. Jumbo details the story of the world's first wide body passenger jet, which could hold more people than any other plane at the time and played a pivotal role in allowing middle class families to afford overseas travel. Author and illustrator Chris Gall, himself a licensed…

Check Our Catalog
Ice! Poems about Polar Life

Ice! Poems about Polar Life

by Florian, Douglas / Holiday House

Funny poems paired with intriguing facts introduce young readers to the fascinating creatures that live in Earth's polar regions. A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year The remote North and South Poles-- which poet Douglas Florian calls our Earth refrigerator-- are home to a wide variety of unusual, rarely-seen creatures including caribou, penguins, ptarmigans, narwhals, and many more Young readers will love learning about these polar denizens and the ways they've adapted to their cold, windy, frozen environments. Whimsical, colorful art and humorous poems introduce more than a dozen polar animals, and touch on the unique characteristics of the polar regions. Funny and…

Check Our Catalog
Claudia and the New Girl (the Baby-Sitters Club Graphic Novel #9), Volume 9

Claudia and the New Girl (the Baby-Sitters Club Graphic Novel #9), Volume 9

by Martin, Ann M. / Graphix

A brand-new Baby-sitters Club graphic novel adapted by newcomer Gabriela Epstein Claudia has always been the most creative kid in her class... until Ashley Wyeth comes along. Ashley's really different: She wears hippie clothes and has multiple earrings, and she's the most fantastic artist Claudia has ever met.Ashley says Claudia is a great artist, too, but thinks she's wasting her artistic talent with The Baby-sitters Club. When Claudia starts spending more time with Ashley and missing BSC meetings, it becomes clear that Claudia has to make a decision -- one of them has to go…

Check Our Catalog
The Only: Endling #3

The Only: Endling #3

by Applegate, Katherine / HarperCollins

The thrilling conclusion to the epic middle grade fantasy trilogy from Katherine Applegate, the New York Times bestselling and Newbery Award-winning author of The One and Only Ivan (now a major motion picture ), The One and Only Bob, Wishtree, and Crenshaw In the beginning, Byx's original quest was to discover if there were more of her kind, or if she was destined to become an endling--the last dairne alive. She did indeed find more dairnes, and along the way she also created allies among other creatures in her world, including humans, felivets, raptidons, and wobbyks. But Byx and her new friends soon learned that it wasn't just dairnes in jeopardy of extinction, but that…

Check Our Catalog
Unplugged

Unplugged

by Korman, Gordon / Balzer & Bray/Harperteen

From New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious middle grade novel about a group of kids forced to "unplug" at a wellness camp--where they instead find intrigue, adventure, and a whole lot of chaos. Perfect for fans of Korman's The Unteachables and Masterminds series, as well as Carl Hiaasen's eco mysteries. As the son of the world's most famous tech billionaire, spoiled Jett Baranov has always gotten what he wanted. So when his father's private jet drops him in the middle of the Arkansas wilderness, at a place called the Oasis, Jett can't believe it. He's forced to hand over his cell phone, eat grainy veggie patties, and participate in…

Check Our Catalog
Finn and the Intergalactic Lunchbox

Finn and the Intergalactic Lunchbox

by Buckley, Michael / Delacorte Press

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Sisters Grimm and NERDS comes a new action-packed middle-grade series with aliens, robots, and kids saving the world Finn Foley has a lunchbox, and when he opens it, weird things come out . . . like a seven-foot-tall robot and a strange, blinking device that glues itself to his chest. The lunchbox also opens wormholes--shortcuts through space--that take Finn to the farthest corners of the galaxy. Sounds awesome, right? Not so much. Rocketing through the cosmos attracts the attention of the Plague, a race of gigantic bugs. The thing on Finn's chest belongs to them--it's the most dangerous weapon in the universe--and they want it…

Check Our Catalog
The Race to Kangaroo Cliff

The Race to Kangaroo Cliff

by Smith, Alexander McCall / Delacorte Press

In this third and final installment of the School Ship Tobermory adventure series, the same loveable cast and crew are back, sailing to new locales in Australia with adventures that don't disappoint. Ben and Fee MacTavish and the rest of the school ship Tobermory crew head to Australia to take part in a tall ships race. But after a good start, the Tobermory unexpectedly changes course to rescue a local boy, Will, who is stranded on the rocks. When the ship's dog, Henry, disappears, Will helps Ben, Fee, and their friends find him, but as the trail leads them deeper into the Outback, they begin to realize that a missing dog is the least of their problems. Join the crew aboard the…

Check Our Catalog