New Arrivals: Chapter Books

Search

Search form

Dog Man Mothering Heights

Dog Man Mothering Heights

by Pilkey, Dav / Graphix

Dog Man and Petey face their biggest challenges yet in the tenth Dog Man book from worldwide bestselling author and illustrator Dav Pilkey.Dog Man is down on his luck, Petey confronts his not so purr-fect past, and Grampa is up to no good. The world is spinning out of control as new villains spill into town. Everything seems dark and full of despair. But hope is not lost. Can the incredible power of love save the day?Dav Pilkey's wildly popular Dog Man series appeals to readers of all ages and explores universally positive themes, including love, empathy, kindness, persistence, and the importance of doing…

Check Our Catalog
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories

Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories

by Kinney, Jeff / Harry N. Abrams

An instant #1 New York Times bestseller! Scare yourself silly with Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories by Jeff Kinney, the #1 international bestselling author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid! Grab a flashlight, crawl under the covers, and dive into the twisted, unexpectedly hilarious world of Rowley Jefferson's imagination. You'll meet zombies, vampires, ghosts, and much more in these comically terrifying tales. Rowley's spooky stories might leave you laughing, but beware--you could end up sleeping with the lights on! And don't miss Rowley Jefferson's first two awesome friendly books, the instant #1 bestsellers Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid:…

Check Our Catalog
The Lost Heir: Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #2

The Lost Heir: Wings of Fire Graphic Novel #2

by Sutherland, Tui T. / Graphix

The New York Times bestselling Wings of Fire series soars to new heights in this graphic novel adaptation The lost heir to the SeaWing throne is going home at last.She can't believe it's finally happening. Tsunami and her fellow dragonets of destiny are journeying under the water to the great SeaWing Kingdom. Stolen as an egg from the royal hatchery, Tsunami is eager to meet her future subjects and reunite with her mother, Queen Coral.But Tsunami's triumphant return doesn't go quite the way she'd imagined. Queen Coral welcomes her with open wings, but a mysterious assassin has been killing off the queen's heirs for years, and Tsunami may be the next target. The…

Check Our Catalog
Ivy and Bean Get to Work!

Ivy and Bean Get to Work!

by Barrows, Annie / Chronicle Books

Ivy and Bean go searching for treasure in Book 12--the final story in the New York Times bestselling early chapter book series It's Career Day at Emerson Elementary School, and all the students have to choose what they want to be when they grow up. No problem. Best friends Ivy and Bean already have that all figured out. At least, they thought so, until they met Herman the Treasure Hunter. Now everyone in the second grade is looking for treasure--and finding it. Everyone except Ivy and Bean, that is. They need to get out their shovels and turn up some treasure on the double - A laugh-out-loud adventure- Bestselling series--more than 6 million copies sold - From beloved author Annie…

Check Our Catalog
Night Owl: Upside-Down Magic #08

Night Owl: Upside-Down Magic #08

by Mlynowski, Sarah / Scholastic

Check Our Catalog
Allergic

Allergic

by Lloyd, Megan Wagner / Graphix

A coming-of-age middle-grade graphic novel featuring a girl with severe allergies who just wants to find the perfect pet!At home, Maggie is the odd one out. Her parents are preoccupied with getting ready for a new baby, and her younger brothers are twins and always in their own world. Maggie loves animals and thinks a new puppy is the answer, but when she goes to select one on her birthday, she breaks out in hives and rashes. She's severely allergic to anything with fur!Can Maggie outsmart her allergies and find the perfect pet? With illustrations by Michelle Mee Nutter, Megan Wagner Lloyd draws on her own experiences with allergies to tell a heartfelt story of family, friendship, and…

Check Our Catalog
Jo Jo Makoons: The Used-To-Be Best Friend

Jo Jo Makoons: The Used-To-Be Best Friend

by Quigley, Dawn / Heartdrum

Hello/Boozhoo--meet Jo Jo Makoons! Full of pride, joy, and plenty of humor, this first book in an all-new chapter book series by Dawn Quigley celebrates a spunky young Ojibwe girl who loves who she is.Jo Jo Makoons Azure is a spirited seven-year-old who moves through the world a little differently than anyone else on her Ojibwe reservation. It always seems like her mom, her kokum (grandma), and her teacher have a lot to learn--about how good Jo Jo is at cleaning up, what makes a good rhyme, and what it means to be friendly. Even though Jo Jo loves her #1 best friend Mimi (who is a cat), she's worried that she needs to figure out how to make more friends. Because Fern, her best friend…

Check Our Catalog
Stella Diaz Dreams Big

Stella Diaz Dreams Big

by Dominguez, Angela / Roaring Brook Press

In Stella D az Dreams Big, by award-winning author and illustrator Angela Dominguez, how will Stella fare when the waters get rough? Stella is happy as a clam in fourth grade. She's the president of the Sea Musketeers conservation club, she starts taking swim lessons, and she joins a new art club at school. But as her schedule fills up, school gets harder, too. Suddenly the tides have turned, and she is way too busy Stella will be in an ocean of trouble if she can't keep her head above water. But with her trusty Sea Musketeers by her side, she hops to make her big dreams come true Based on the author's experiences growing up Mexican-American, this infectiously charming…

Check Our Catalog
Investigators: Off the Hook

Investigators: Off the Hook

by Green, John Patrick / First Second

InvestiGators Mango and Brash don their fanciest vests for InvestiGators: Off the Hook, the next mystery in the hilarious adventure series from John Patrick Green Sewer-loving secret agents Mango and Brash fight for the GATOR good in this zany adventure that will have readers HOOKED The InvestiGators are the best crime-fighting duo in the world. But not even their hi-tech training programs can prepare them for the return of their greatest nemesis, Crackerdile, in a shocking new form Even worse, he's creating a team of super villains Faced with the choice between saving themselves or catching the crooks, can Mango and Brash make sure the gator good…

Check Our Catalog
The 130-Story Treehouse

The 130-Story Treehouse

by Griffiths, Andy / Feiwel & Friends

New York Times-bestselling team Andy Griffiths and Terry Denton invite readers to come hang out with them in their 130-Story Treehouse--the tenth book in the illustrated chapter book series filled with Andy and Terry's signature slapstick humor Andy and Terry live in a 130-story treehouse. (It used to be a 117-story treehouse, but they added another 13 stories.) It has a soap bubble blaster, a time-wasting level, a 13-story igloo, the GRABINATOR (it can grab anything from anywhere at any time), a toilet paper factory, and an extraterrestrial observation centre for observing aliens. As it turns out, though, it's Andy, Terry and Jill who are being observed--and then abducted--by a…

Check Our Catalog
Baloney and Friends: Going Up!

Baloney and Friends: Going Up!

by Pizzoli, Greg / Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Three-time Theodor Seuss Geisel Award recipient Greg Pizzoli presents the second Baloney and Friends book that Dav Pilkey declares "will inspire young readers to write and draw their own stories" Baloney and friends will have newly independent readers giggling their way through more day-to-day adventures in the second book of this pitch-perfect graphic novel series. Whether it's writing the lyrics to their own original theme song, having an epic sleepover in a tent, experimenting with an incredible new device that lets them reach for the sky, or thinking deep (or deeply funny) thoughts about the world around them, this new collection of mini-tales and three mini-comics will have you…

Check Our Catalog
Catherine's War

Catherine's War

by Billet, Julia / Harperalley

"A shining story of a young girl who struggles to come of age and find her place in a world fraught with danger." --Susan Campbell Bartoletti, Newbery Honor-winning author of Hitler Youth* Winner of the Youth Prize at the Angoul�me International Comics Festival (voted by readers) * Winner of the Art�misia Prize for Historical Fiction * Winner of the Andersen Premio Prize *A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that asks universal questions about a young girl's coming of age story, her identity, her passions, and her first loves.At the S�vres Children's Home outside Paris, Rachel Cohen has discovered her passion--photography. Although she…

Check Our Catalog
Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars

Dinosaur Boy Saves Mars

by Putman Oakes, Cory / Sourcebooks Young Readers

Dinosaurs, Martians, and mystery, oh my Fans of Michael Buckley's NERDS and Dan Gutman's Genius Files will love this hilarious, action-packed adventure series. What would life be like if you were part dinosaur?When you're part Stegosaurus life can be a little crazy. (Yes, sleeping with plates is weird. No, dino-human hybrids do not have second brains in their butts.) But Sawyer's life is normal(ish)--until he's yanked aboard a UFO and sent on a mission to Mars.Sawyer, Elliot and Sylvie travel to Mars to find her missing father, but they find even bigger trouble. Mars is trying to kick Pluto out of the solar system. And the fate of both planets will be decided by…

Check Our Catalog
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch

Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch

by Abe, Julie / Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A young witch must pass a coming-of-age quest or risk losing her magic forever in this enchanting fantasy -- perfect for fans of Kiki's Delivery Service and Aru Shah and the End of Time.Sometimes all you need is a pinch of magic... Eva Evergreen is determined to earn the rank of Novice Witch before her thirteenth birthday. If she doesn't, she'll lose her magic forever. For most young witches and wizards, it's a simple enough test: One: Help your town, do good all around.Two: Live there for one moon, don't leave too soon.Three: Fly home by broomstick, the easiest of tricks. The only problem? Eva only has a pinch of magic. She summons heads of cabbage instead of…

Check Our Catalog