New Arrivals: Picture Books

Search

Search form

Little Houses

Little Houses

by Henkes, Kevin / Greenwillow Books

From award-winning and bestselling author Kevin Henkes and the acclaimed painter Laura Dronzek, Little Houses is an unforgettable masterpiece about nature, family, wonder, and the ocean. The lyrical writing and stunning paintings make this a great choice for family sharing and for story times all year round.When a young girl visits her grandparents at the beach, she stays in a little house and walks along the shore gathering seashells--which were once little houses of their own. As she wanders the beach, she wonders about the creatures who used to live in each shell, about the hidden treasures of the sea, and about the mysteries of the world.Kevin Henkes's text features striking…

Check Our Catalog
Two Dogs

Two Dogs

by Falconer, Ian / Michael Di Capua Books

From Ian Falconer, Caldecott Honor winner and #1 New York Times bestselling creator of the Olivia series, comes a dashingly delightful picture book about two unforgettable dachshunds and their search for fun!Dachshund brothers Perry and Augie are home alone and desperately want to get outside and have a good time. Augie is the cautious one, the worrier; Perry is pure joy and excitement. When they finally manage to open the back door, mischievous adventures begin! Soon they're diving into the swimming pool, digging an enormous hole, and more! Will all return to normal before their owners come home?This witty and utterly heartwarming story plays perfectly off the exquisite illustrations.…

Check Our Catalog
Bat Wings! Cat Wings?

Bat Wings! Cat Wings?

by Gehl, Laura / Creative Editions

Check Our Catalog
The Blur

The Blur

by Lê, Minh / Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

Meet a child with superhero-like abilities . . . and the parents who are racing to keep up with her in this sweetly funny picture book about the blur of childhood, from the award-winning creators of Drawn Together. From the very beginning, there was something different about this child... An ultrasonic voice. Fantastically elastic limbs. Super-magnetic powers. But it wasn't until the child took her first steps that she became: THE BLUR! Nothing can stand in her way as she takes the world by storm: always on the move and darting into danger! All too soon, she is zipping through the days, and zooming over the years... Framed as an origin story, here is a fun superhero romp for kids,…

Check Our Catalog
The World Belonged to Us

The World Belonged to Us

by Woodson, Jacqueline / Nancy Paulsen Books

Two children's book superstars--#1 New York Times bestseller Jacqueline Woodson, the author of The Day You Begin, and Leo Espinosa, the illustrator of Islandborn­--join forces to celebrate the joy and freedom of summer in the city, which is gloriously captured in their rhythmic text and lively art. It's getting hot outside, hot enough to turn on the hydrants and run through the water--and that means it's finally summer in the city! Released from school and reveling in their freedom, the kids on one Brooklyn block take advantage of everything summertime has to offer. Freedom from morning till night to go out to meet their friends and make the streets their…

Check Our Catalog
Watching for Wonders

Watching for Wonders

by Snider, Grant / Chronicle Books

Everyone knows what it feels like to be a passenger--and this book finally puts this universal feeling into words. Climb aboard Bus Number Four as it travels along country roads and city streets, past train tracks and farm fields. Through the window, countless details rush by, just waiting to be noticed. What will you see today? In this lyrical tribute to long rides and curious minds, author Grant Snider celebrates the extraordinary found within the ordinary, the fascinating hiding within the familiar, and the world of discovery awaiting all those who watch and wonder. THE EXPERIENCE OF BEING A PASSENGER: An ode to staring out the window, to the daydream, and to observation. This thoughtful…

Check Our Catalog
I Am Elephant

I Am Elephant

by Lewis, J. Patrick / Creative Editions

Check Our Catalog
Color

Color

by Rossetti, Christina / Creative Editions

Splashes of vibrant color are paired with rhyming couplets and familiar objects in this first introduction to color. The stark simplicity, familiar images, and lilting rhymes combine to make a handsome…

Check Our Catalog
The World Below the Brine

The World Below the Brine

by Whitman, Walt / Creative Editions

Nineteenth-century poet Walt Whitman employs the language of his day to express a wonder about the world below the sea that is…

Check Our Catalog
Cornbread & Poppy at the Carnival

Cornbread & Poppy at the Carnival

by Cordell, Matthew / Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The second entry in Caldecott medalist Matthew Cordell's early reader series about two best friends who are as different from each other as can be. Poppy LOVES scary movies. Cornbread does not. Poppy ADORES runny cheese. Cornbread does not. Poppy can't WAIT to try a roller coaster. Cornbread...can. But Cornbread and Poppy are the best of friends, so when the Carnival rolls into town, Cornbread agrees to check it out. Their day promises to include fun games, yummy snacks, and big, big rides. What new things will these mice try? Celebrating both partnership and the value of what makes us individuals, young readers will find this classic odd couple irresistible as they encounter…

Check Our Catalog
Pete the Kitty: Wash Your Hands

Pete the Kitty: Wash Your Hands

by Dean, James / HarperCollins

Join Pete the Kitty as he learns to wash his hands in this new I Can Read story from New York Times bestselling creators Kimberly and James Dean!Splish, scrub, splash, rub! Keeping clean is groovy and fun!Pete must wash his hands many times a day. He must wash them after he sneezes, coughs, plays with his friends, eats his food, and throws away his trash.Beginning readers will love learning how to wash their hands with Pete!This My First I Can Read book is carefully crafted using basic language, word repetition, sight words, and sweet illustrations--which means it's perfect for shared reading with emergent readers. The active, engaging My First I Can Read stories have appealing plots…

Check Our Catalog
Frank and Bean: Food Truck Fiasco

Frank and Bean: Food Truck Fiasco

by Michalak, Jamie / Candlewick Press (MA)

Kids will gobble up this hilarious second adventure starring Frank and Bean, who prove that, win or lose, true friends can make any competition go down easy. Frank likes peace and quiet. He likes his tea, his book, and his yoga mat. He is just settling in to enjoy them, when . . . honk! honk! honk! Here comes Bean with his new food truck! It is fun on wheels! It's a rolling party! Bean is going to Food Truck Friday to sell his donuts. Bean's donuts have zip. They have zing. They are sure to win the competition! Frank has something to sell, too. He has oatmeal. Oatmeal is boring. It needs zip. It needs zing. What if Bean's donuts could help Frank's oatmeal? What if donuts…

Check Our Catalog
Franklin Endicott and the Third Key: Tales from Deckawoo Drive, Volume Six

Franklin Endicott and the Third Key: Tales from Deckawoo Drive, Volume Six

by DiCamillo, Kate / Candlewick Press (MA)

The latest tale from Deckawoo Drive--and New York Times best-selling creators Kate DiCamillo and Chris Van Dusen--is a balm for young worrywarts facing the unknown. Welcome back to Deckawoo Drive for a sixth endearing installment in the companion series to Kate DiCamillo's New York Times best-selling Mercy Watson books. Frank Endicott is a worrier. He worries about lions, submarines, black holes, leprosy, and armadillos. He lists his worries alphabetically in a notebook and suffers vivid nightmares that even a certain neighborhood pig can't dispatch. When he accompanies Eugenia Lincoln on an errand to duplicate a key at her favorite dark and dusty thrift shop, Frank earns fresh…

Check Our Catalog
Beak & Ally #1: Unlikely Friends

Beak & Ally #1: Unlikely Friends

by Feuti, Norm / Harperalley

Theodor Seuss Geisel Honor Award winner! "What do you get when you cross a crusty alligator and a perky bird? A surprising friendship you'll be sure to cheer for. Beak and Ally is a warm, funny winner!" --Terri Libenson, author of the New York Times bestselling Emmie & Friends seriesA brand-new early reader graphic novel series about finding friendship in unexpected places! This fun and funny buddy comedy is perfect for fans of Narwhal & Jelly, emerging readers, and all kids who love comics.Ally the alligator is perfectly happy being alone . . . until one day a noisy bird named Beak lands on her snout.Beak thinks Ally is lonely and needs a friend. He has all sorts of friendship goals…

Check Our Catalog