New Arrivals: Picture Books

Search

Search form

Itty-Bitty Kitty-Corn

Itty-Bitty Kitty-Corn

by Hale, Shannon / Abrams Books for Young Readers

A New York Times bestseller! "[Itty-Bitty Kitty-Corn] has a big heart." --New York Times From bestselling superstar duo Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham comes a delightful kitty and unicorn story that celebrates the magic of friendship--and being exactly who you want to be! Kitty thinks she might be a unicorn. She feels so perfectly unicorn-y! "Neigh!" says Kitty. But when Unicorn clop clop clops over, sweeping his magnificent tail and neighing a mighty neigh, Kitty feels no bigger than a ball of lint. Can this unlikely pair embrace who they are, and truly see one another? In their first picture book together, the magical, bestselling team of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham put their horns…

Check Our Catalog
Peace Train

Peace Train

by Stevens, Cat / HarperCollins

The instant #1 New York Times and Indie bestseller!Hop aboard the Peace Train in this picture book adaptation of Cat Stevens's legendary anthem of unity and harmony in time for the song's 50th anniversary! With illustrations by New York Times bestselling illustrator Peter H. Reynolds."Now I've been happy lately Thinking about the good things to come And I believe it could be Something good has begunOh, I've been smiling lately Dreaming about the world as one And I believe it could be Someday it's going to come"Readers are invited to hop on the PEACE TRAIN and join its growing group of passengers who are all ready to unite the world in peace and harmony.Featuring the…

Check Our Catalog
It's a Tiger!

It's a Tiger!

by LaRochelle, David / Chronicle Books

Kids and parents alike will rejoice in this lively read-aloud picture book, as the main character runs into (and away from) a tiger over and over again as the plot gets sillier and sillier. Full…

Check Our Catalog
Magnificent Homespun Brown: A Celebration

Magnificent Homespun Brown: A Celebration

by Doyon, Samara Cole / Tilbury House Publishers

With vivid illustrations by Kaylani Juanita, Samara Cole Doyon sings a carol for the plenitude that surrounds us and the self each of us is meant to…

Check Our Catalog
Story Boat

Story Boat

by Maclear, Kyo / Tundra Books (NY)

When you have to leave behind almost everything you know, where can you call home? Sometimes home is simply where we are: here. An imaginative, lyrical, unforgettable picture book about the migrant experience through a child's eyes. When a little girl and her younger brother are forced along with their family to flee the home they've always known, they must learn to make a new home for themselves -- wherever they are. And sometimes the smallest things -- a cup, a blanket, a lamp, a flower, a story -- can become a port of hope in a terrible storm. As the refugees travel onward toward an uncertain future, they are buoyed up by their hopes, dreams and the stories they tell -- a story…

Check Our Catalog
Your Name Is a Song

Your Name Is a Song

by Thompkins-Bigelow, Jamilah / Innovation Press

Frustrated by a day full of teachers and classmates mispronouncing her beautiful name, a little girl tells her mother she never wants to come back to school. In response, the girl's mother teaches her about the musicality of African, Asian, Black-American, Latinx, and Middle Eastern names on their lyrical walk home through the city. Empowered by this newfound understanding, the young girl is ready to return the next day to share her knowledge with her class. Your Name is a Song is a celebration to remind all of us about the beauty, history, and magic behind names. Your Name is a Song includes back matter perfect for parents, educators, caregivers, and young readers who want to learn…

Check Our Catalog
Hurry Up!: A Book about Slowing Down

Hurry Up!: A Book about Slowing Down

by Dopirak, Kate / Beach Lane Books

A busy boy and his dog learn to slow down and enjoy life together in this lyrical, rhyming picture book perfect for hurried families everywhere. For one busy boy, life is all hurry up, hurry down, hurry round and round and round That is until he takes a big breath...and a big break...and slows down to see all the wonderful things in the world around him. From celebrated picture book creators Kate Dopirak and Christopher Silas Neal, this playful yet powerful picture book reminds us to be present, to be mindful, and to appreciate each…

Check Our Catalog
The Bear in My Family

The Bear in My Family

by Tatsukawa, Maya / Dial Books

An overbearing older sibling can really be a bear, but the child in this understated, gently humorous story finds out that they can have their advantages, too. I live with a bear, the story's young narrator declares. The bear is loud, messy, uncouth, and very strong (too strong ). For some reason, his parents treat the bear like family, despite his protests. Why can't they see? Then he runs into some bullies on the playground. When the bear ROOAARS with all her might and scares them away, he realizes that there are advantages to having a bear in the family. In a delightful twist, the narrator's older sister (the bear) appears, telling him that she is NOT a bear. But if she…

Check Our Catalog
Whose Bones?: An Animal Guessing Game

Whose Bones?: An Animal Guessing Game

by Balkan, Gabrielle / Phaidon Press

The bold illustrations and humorous text of this board book, printed at the perfect size for the little hands of children aged 2-4, help children to learn all about the bones in their own bodies through guessing games and by comparing their bones to those in animalsSet up as a guessing game with visual and narrative clues, Whose Bones? invites the youngest readers to examine six animal skeletons and guess to whom they belong. The answers are provided in vibrant, foldout reveals, each accompanied by read-aloud text that explains why each animal's bones and bodies are so special. This playful, informative introduction to bones for the youngest readers has been created by the author and…

Check Our Catalog
Solar System with - El Sistema Solar

Solar System with - El Sistema Solar

by Rodriguez, Patty / Lil' Libros

Introduce the universe to your baby through this charming bilingual book, which will show them the sun, moon, and planets in English and Spanish. Take a trip around our solar system with Ellen Ochoa, the first Latina in the world to travel into space. This book introduces little ones to the sun, moon, and planets with simple facts in English and Spanish. The Solar System with/El Sistema Solar con Ellen is a wonderful bilingual board book that celebrates the contributions of an incredible trailblazer while introducing little ones to our solar system. Patty Rodriguez is the co-founder of Lil' Libros, a publisher of bilingual children's books and co-author of more than 15 books…

Check Our Catalog
Sing with Me / Canta Conmigo (Bilingual): Six Classic Songs in English and Spanish

Sing with Me / Canta Conmigo (Bilingual): Six Classic Songs in English and Spanish

by Orozco, Jose-Luis / Scholastic Press

Sing and read along to these six favorite preschool songs, in English and in Spanish, from beloved and bestselling recording artist, Jos -Luis Orozco Come along and sing with me Sing along to your child's favorite songs, from Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star to The Wheels on the Bus, in English and in Spanish Accompanied by joyful, charming illustrations by Pura Belpr award winner Sara Palacios, this book is for every child who loves to sing, dance, and…

Check Our Catalog
Time for Kenny

Time for Kenny

by Pinkney, Brian / Greenwillow Books

Two-time Caldecott Honor artist and Coretta Scott King Medalist Brian Pinkney's Time for Kenny is simple, direct, and pitch-perfect for emerging readers. This vibrant, family-oriented picture book is full of boundless energy, action, and unlimited love. A timeless choice for fans of Laura Vaccaro Seeger, Christian Robinson, and Oge Mora. Time for Kenny to get up and enjoy the day with his family In four deceptively simple stories, Brian Pinkney guides readers through a young child's day. First, Kenny must get dressed. Maybe he can wear his mom's shoes? And his grandpa's hat seems to fit perfectly on his head. Luckily, with the help of his family, Kenny is finally set…

Check Our Catalog
Lala's Words

Lala's Words

by Zhang, Gracey / Scholastic Inc.

From debut author-illustrator Gracey Zhang comes a timeless and timely picture book that celebrates the unassuming power of kind words.Oh, there goes Lala! She carries a pot of water around the corner, down the block, and over the fence, to a patch of dirt and concrete where tiny weeds sprout. Hello, hello, friends! she whispers. Lala waters the plants every day, but it is her kind words that make them sway and nod.Lala's wild nature and quiet compassion enchant in this evergreen story about the power of kind words and the magic of being loved for who you…

Check Our Catalog
Skulls!

Skulls!

by Thornburgh, Blair / Atheneum Books for Young Readers

Debut picture book author Blair Thornburgh and award-winning illustrator Scott Campbell put their heads together to celebrate one of the most important bones in your body: the skull You probably don't think much about skulls. So what's the big deal about them? Well, every head of every person you've ever seen has a skull inside. And that includes YOU This smart, skull-positive story cheerfully dispels any fears kids might have about their skeletons, flipping our view of skulls from a spooky symbol to a fascinating, cool, and crucial part of our…

Check Our Catalog