New Arrivals: Picture Books

Search

Search form

Sulwe

Sulwe

by Nyong'o, Lupita / Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

A New York Times bestseller Recipient of a Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award Recipient of an NAACP Image Award for Outstanding Children's Literary Work From Academy Award-winning actress Lupita Nyong'o comes a powerful, moving picture book about colorism, self-esteem, and learning that true beauty comes from within. Sulwe has skin the color of midnight. She is darker than everyone in her family. She is darker than anyone in her school. Sulwe just wants to be beautiful and bright, like her mother and sister. Then a magical journey in the night sky opens her eyes and changes everything. In this stunning debut picture book, actress Lupita Nyong'o creates a whimsical…

Check Our Catalog
Bear Came Along

Bear Came Along

by Morris, Richard T. / Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A Caldecott Honor Book A cheerful and action-packed adventure about the importance of friendship and community from a successful author and illustrator duo Once there was a river flowing through a forest. The river didn't know it was capable of adventures until a big bear came along. But adventures aren't any fun by yourself, and so enters Froggy, Turtles, Beaver, Racoons, and Duck. These very different animals take off downstream, but they didn't know they needed one another until thankfully, the river came along. This hilarious picture book and heartfelt message celebrates the joy and fun that's in store when you embark together on a ride of a lifetime.…

Check Our Catalog
A Friend for Henry

A Friend for Henry

by Bailey, Jenn / Chronicle Books

2020 Schneider Family Honor Book In Classroom Six, second left down the hall, Henry has been on the lookout for a friend. A friend who shares. A friend who listens. Maybe even a friend who likes things to stay the same and all in order, as Henry does. But on a day full of too close and too loud, when nothing seems to go right, will Henry ever find a friend--or will a friend find him? With insight and warmth, this heartfelt story from the perspective of a boy on the autism spectrum celebrates the everyday magic of…

Check Our Catalog
Boxitects

Boxitects

by Smith, Kim / Clarion Books

A STEAM-centered, adorably illustrated picture book about Meg, a brilliant and creative boxitect who creates extraordinary things out of ordinary cardboard boxes. Meg is a brilliant and creative boxitect. She loves impressing her teacher and classmates with what she makes out of boxes. But there's a new kid at Maker School: Simone. Simone is good at everything, and worst of all, she's a boxitect too. When the annual Maker Match is held, Meg and Simone are paired as a team but can't seem to stop arguing. When their extraordinary project turns into a huge disaster, they must find a way to join creative forces, lift each other up, and work together.…

Check Our Catalog
Double Bass Blues

Double Bass Blues

by Loney, Andrea / Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

A Caldecott Honor Book A joyous celebration of family, community, and the unifying power of music, perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street. Nic is an aspiring musician whose life spans two different worlds--his suburban school where he wows his friends in orchestra, and the busy city streets of his home where he's jostled by the crowd. Nic makes his way home from a busy day at school with a double bass on his back, the symphony of his surroundings in his heart, and a sweet surprise for the reader at the end of his journey. This is a sweet, melodious picture book about how dedication, music, and family can overcome any…

Check Our Catalog
Packs: Strength in Numbers

Packs: Strength in Numbers

by Salyer, Hannah / Houghton Mifflin

★ "Part natural science, part deep ecology, wholly captivating."--Kirkus, STARRED review ★ "A must-purchase for every collection." --School Library Journal, STARRED review An exquisitely illustrated celebration of animals who live in packs, herds, pods, and more--including humans. Vivid art and exuberant vocabulary are perfect for emerging readers and parents looking for nonfiction picture books for home learning. Packs shows how togetherness and teamwork are the keys to survival of any species, and the many ways we rely on one another. "Showing how different animals benefit from living and working in groups, Salyer's debut is a great example of the inventiveness possible…

Check Our Catalog
Almost Time

Almost Time

by Schmidt, Gary D. / Clarion Books

A tender father-and-son story about the passage of time, the change of seasons, and the excitement of reaching a goal. Eager for maple syrup, Ethan can't wait till sugaring time rolls around. And he can't wait till his loose tooth falls out. But his father keeps telling him it's not time yet, and no matter how hard he tries, he can't make time pass more quickly. The closeness of father and son is evident throughout as they wait and then celebrate the end of waiting. The brief, lyrical text is illuminated by G. Brian Karas's beautifully composed, evocative…

Check Our Catalog
At the Mountain's Base

At the Mountain's Base

by Sorell, Traci / Kokila

A family, separated by duty and distance, waits for a loved one to return home in this lyrical picture book celebrating the bonds of a Cherokee family and the bravery of history-making women pilots. At the mountain's base sits a cabin under an old hickory tree. And in that cabin lives a family -- loving, weaving, cooking, and singing. The strength in their song sustains them through trials on the ground and in the sky, as they wait for their loved one, a pilot, to return from war. With an author's note that pays homage to the true history of Native American U.S. service members like WWII pilot Ola Mildred "Millie" Rexroat, this is a story that reveals the roots that ground us, the…

Check Our Catalog
The Book Hog

The Book Hog

by Pizzoli, Greg / Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

The Book Hog loves books---the way they look, the way they feel, the way they smell--and he'll grab whatever he can find. There's only one problem: he can't read But when a kind librarian invites him to join for storytime, this literature-loving pig discovers the treasure that books really are.Greg Pizzoli, master of read-aloud fun and three-time Theodor Seuss Geisel Award recipient, introduces a character sure to steal kids' hearts using his signature cheerful colors and lighthearted narrative style."Even non-Book-Hogs should have this one. It's that good." --Jon Klassen, Caldecott Medal winner for This Is Not My Hat"A book that readers will be eager to hog."…

Check Our Catalog
Bilal Cooks Daal

Bilal Cooks Daal

by Saeed, Aisha / Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for You

A Kirkus Reviews Best Picture Book of 2019 An Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature Honor Book 2019 Six-year-old Bilal introduces his friends to his favorite dish--daal --in this charming picture book that showcases the value of patience, teamwork, community, and sharing. Six-year-old Bilal is excited to help his dad make his favorite food of all-time: daal The slow-cooked lentil dish from South Asia requires lots of ingredients and a whole lot of waiting. Bilal wants to introduce his friends to daal. They've never tried it As the day goes on, the daal continues to simmer, and more kids join Bilal and his family, waiting to try the tasty dish. And as time passes, Bilal begins…

Check Our Catalog
The Friendship Book

The Friendship Book

by Ray, Mary Lyn / Houghton Mifflin

With charming art and poetry, this honest primer on friendship, and companion to The Thank You Book, captures the many ways friendships are formed and what it means to be a friend. Perfect for fans of I Like You and A Friend Is Someone Who Likes You. Sometimes being friends begins all at once And sometimes it takes a while to get acquainted But then, as some small knowing grows, You start feeling that feeling That comes with having a friend-- Exploring the many shapes friendships take and how being a friend can be a gift in itself, this thoughtful and authentic primer on friendship invites readers to celebrate the wonders of…

Check Our Catalog
Red House, Tree House, Little Bitty Brown Mouse

Red House, Tree House, Little Bitty Brown Mouse

by Godwin, Jane / Dial Books

A bit Each Peach Pear Plum, a bit Go, Dog, Go , this read-aloud joy is deceptively simple yet packed with delights for the very young--a preschool standout deserving of modern-classic status. A little mouse makes her way around the world, and invites preschoolers along as she sets out: Red house / Blue house / Green house / Tree house / See the tiny mouse in her little brown house? Seamless, simple, and inspiring, the rhyming story abounds in concepts for the very young, with a particular focus on colors, and a delightful search-and-find element on every spread--the intrepid mouse herself * "Wonderful...Delightful" --Kirkus (starred review)* "Excellent...Perfectly aimed at the very…

Check Our Catalog
Across the Bay

Across the Bay

by Aponte, Carlos / Penguin Workshop

RECIPIENT OF THE PURA BELPR ILLUSTRATOR HONOR Author-illustrator Carlos Aponte takes readers on a journey to the heart of Puerto Rico in this enchanting picture book set in Old San Juan. "A lively and honest story about filling voids and exploring what defines a family--as well as a love letter to a childhood home."--Horn Book Carlitos lives in a happy home with his mother, his abuela, and Coco the cat. Life in his hometown is cozy as can be, but the call of the capital city pulls Carlitos across the bay in search of his father. Jolly pirag eros, mischievous cats, and costumed musicians color this tale of love, family, and the true meaning of…

Check Our Catalog
Gittel's Journey: An Ellis Island Story

Gittel's Journey: An Ellis Island Story

by Newman, Leslea / Harry N. Abrams

Gittel and her mother were supposed to immigrate to America together, but when her mother is stopped by the health inspector, Gittel must make the journey alone. Her mother writes her cousin's address in New York on a piece of paper. However, when Gittel arrives at Ellis Island, she discovers the ink has run and the address is illegible How will she find her family? Both a heart-wrenching and heartwarming story, Gittel's Journey offers a fresh perspective on the immigration journey to Ellis Island. The book includes an author's note explaining how Gittel's story is based on the journey to America taken by Lesl a Newman's grandmother and family…

Check Our Catalog