New Arrivals: Picture Books

Search

Search form

A Boy and a House

A Boy and a House

by Kastelic, Maja / Annick Press

When a little boy sees a cat slip into the open door of an apartment building, the temptation is too great: he follows the cat into the lobby. Before continuing up the stairway, the boy picks up one of several discarded drawings that litter the floor. Another open door awaits. Again, the boy follows the cat, this time into an apartment filled with books and toys. No one is there, but a table set for tea testifies to the fact that someone has been there recently. More drawings are scattered throughout, which the boy picks up one by one. With his pile of sketches in hand, he continues up several more staircases until he reaches an attic where a wonderful surprise awaits him. The stunning…

Check Our Catalog
The Patchwork Bike

The Patchwork Bike

by Clarke, Maxine Beneba / Candlewick Press (MA)

It has a bent bucket seat, bashed tin-can handlebars, and wood-cut wheels -- and riding the patchwork bike that you and your crazy brothers made is the best fun in the whole village. When you live in a village at the edge of the no-go desert, you need to make your own fun. That's when you and your brothers get inventive and build a bike from scratch, using everyday items like an old milk pot (maybe Mum is still using it, maybe not) and a used flour sack. You can even make a license plate from bark if you want. The end result is a spectacular bike, perfect for whooping and laughing as you bumpetty bump over sand hills, past your fed-up mum and right through your mud-for-walls home. A…

Check Our Catalog
Up the Mountain Path

Up the Mountain Path

by Dubuc, Marianne / Princeton Architectural Press

Mrs. Badger, an avid collector and naturalist, takes a weekly journey up to Sugarloaf Peak, greeting her friends on the way and sharing her discoveries with them. One day she meets Lulu, a very small cat, who wants to go with her to the top of the mountain. On the way, Lulu learns to take care of the natural world, help those in need, and listen to her intuition. Rich in wisdom and beautifully illustrated, Up the Mountain Path offers a profound story full of lessons about love, generosity, and following one's…

Check Our Catalog
The Fox on the Swing

The Fox on the Swing

by Daciute, Evelina / Thames & Hudson

Learn about family, happiness, and friendship in this hope-filled children's book. Our story starts with a boy named Paul, who lives in a cozy treehouse in a big city with his family. And then something unexpected happens--Paul befriends a wise, friendly fox on a walk home from the bakery. The fox gives Paul a space to think about what makes him happy and what friendship means--all in the pages of a bright and quirky storybook. Join Paul and the fox while helping young readers decide what makes them…

Check Our Catalog
When the Cousins Came

When the Cousins Came

by Yamasaki, Katie / Holiday House

Lila is excited for her cousins Takeo and Rosie to visit, but is disappointed that the cousins don't want to do the same things as Lila. This sensitive story about insecurity, hosting, and friendship reminds children that negative thoughts and anxiety over exclusion don't always translate to reality. Full…

Check Our Catalog
Auntie Luce's Talking Paintings

Auntie Luce's Talking Paintings

by LaTour, Francie / Groundwood Books

Every winter, a young girl flies to Haiti to visit her Auntie Luce, a painter. The moment she steps off the plane, she feels a wall of heat, and familiar sights soon follow -- the boys selling water ice by the pink cathedral, the tap tap buses in the busy streets, the fog and steep winding road to her aunt's home in the mountains. The girl has always loved Auntie Luce's paintings -- the houses tucked into the hillside, colorful fishing boats by the water, heroes who fought for and won the country's independence. Through Haiti's colors, the girl comes to understand this place her family calls home. And when the moment finally comes to have her own portrait painted for the…

Check Our Catalog
A House That Once Was

A House That Once Was

by Fogliano, Julie / Roaring Brook Press

A New York Times Best Illustrated book A Boston Globe Best Children's Book of 2018"Accompanied by Lane's evocative art that suggests layers of history, Fogliano's story turns this childhood scenario into a radiant poem about the mysteries of other people and the wonderfulness of home." --New York TimesDeep in the woodsis a housejust a housethat once wasbut now isn't a home.Who lived in that house? Who walked down its hallways? Why did they leave it, and where did they go?Two children set off to find the answers by piecing together clues found, books left behind, forgotten photos, and discarded toys, creating their own vision of those who came before, in this deeply…

Check Our Catalog
Thank You, Omu!

Thank You, Omu!

by Mora, Oge / Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

A 2019 Caldecott Honor BookWinner of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Illustrator Award In this remarkable author-illustrator debut that's perfect for fans of Last Stop on Market Street and Extra Yarn, a generous woman is rewarded by her community. Everyone in the neighborhood dreams of a taste of Omu's delicious stew One by one, they follow their noses toward the scrumptious scent. And one by one, Omu offers a portion of her meal. Soon the pot is empty. Has she been so generous that she has nothing left for herself? Debut author-illustrator Oge Mora brings to life a heartwarming story of sharing and community in colorful cut-paper designs as luscious as Omu's…

Check Our Catalog
We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga

We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga

by Sorell, Traci / Charlesbridge Publishing

2019 Sibert Honor Book2019 Orbis Pictus Honor BookNPR's Guide To 2018's Great Reads2018 Book Launch Award (SCBWI)Kirkus Reviews Best Books of 2018School Library Journal Best Books of 20182018 JLG selection The Cherokee community is grateful for blessings and challenges that each season brings. This is modern Native American life as told by an enrolled citizen of the Cherokee Nation. The word otsaliheliga (oh-jah-LEE-hay-lee-gah) is used by members of the Cherokee Nation to express gratitude. Beginning in the fall with the new year and ending in summer, follow a full Cherokee year of celebrations and experiences. Written by a citizen of the Cherokee Nation, this look at one group…

Check Our Catalog
Mustafa

Mustafa

by Gay, Marie-Louise / Groundwood Books

Mustafa and his family traveled a long way to reach their new home. Some nights Mustafa dreams about the country he used to live in, and he wakes up not knowing where he is. Then his mother takes him out to the balcony to see the moon -- the same moon as in their old country. In the park, Mustafa sees ants and caterpillars and bees -- they are the same, too. He encounters a "girl-with-a-cat," who says something in a language that he can't understand. He watches an old lady feeding birds and other children playing, but he is always looking in from the outside and he feels that he is invisible. But one day, the girl-with-the-cat beckons to him, and Mustafa begins to become part of his…

Check Our Catalog
No Boring Stories!

No Boring Stories!

by Falatko, Julie / Viking Books for Young Readers

A group of misfits takes a stand against sweet, cuddly, boring stories in this picture book by the critically acclaimed author of the Snappsy the Alligator series, Julie Falatko. The unpopular animals have had enough. They want to be in a picture book Stories about mommy-loving kitties and cuddly bunnies at bedtime are boring. Wouldn't you rather hear about yeti crabs in robo suits and fierce babirusa princesses who fight giant grape monsters? This group of misfits has a unique story to tell, but they'll never finish writing it if their over-eager bunny neighbor won't GO AWAY Julie Falatko, critically acclaimed author of the Snappsy the Alligator books, brings her…

Check Our Catalog
Ocean Meets Sky

Ocean Meets Sky

by Fan, Terry / Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

"Young readers will be captivated." --The Washington Post From the creators of the gorgeous bestseller The Night Gardener comes a stunning new picture book about a young boy who sets sail to find a place his grandfather told him about...the spot where the ocean meets the sky. It's a good day for sailing. Finn lives by the sea and the sea lives by him. Every time he looks out his window it's a constant reminder of the stories his grandfather told him about the place where the ocean meets the sky. Where whales and jellyfish soar and birds and castles float. Finn's grandfather is gone now but Finn knows the perfect way to honor him. He'll build his own ship and sail out to…

Check Our Catalog
Who Will Bell the Cat?

Who Will Bell the Cat?

by McKissack, Patricia C. / Holiday House

A Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the Year A Chicago Tribune Best Children's Book of the Year Weak, sick, and hungry, a tabby cat seeks shelter in an old barn, where the mice take pity on her and make her a warm, cozy bed in the straw. . . But as soon as she feels better, Marmalade the cat begins doing what cats do: chasing the mice When Smart Mouse stumbles across an old bell, the mice hatch a plan to make sure Marmalade can never sneak up on them again... but who will be able to get the collar onto the cat? Retold by a master storyteller, this tale is brought to life by bold illustrations of gentle mice, cozy barn corners, and of course, the magnificent feline rage of Marmalade on…

Check Our Catalog
Kitten and the Night Watchman

Kitten and the Night Watchman

by Sullivan, John / Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books

SELECTED AS A BEST BOOK OF 2018 BY THE BOSTON GLOBE, KIRKUS REVIEWS, PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, AND BOOKPAGE "Every life and job is unique; this book's take on the job of a watchman is empathetic, poetic, and a joy to look at, cute kitty and all." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "This quiet, understated book contains a wealth of emotions young children can work through and relate to--from worry to relief to the comfort of belonging." -The Horn Book (starred review) " Illustrator] Yoo sets a lovely mood, taking readers from sunset to dawn through washes of orange, pink, and blue, the watchman's compassionate demeanor assuring them that all's well." --Publishers Weekly (starred…

Check Our Catalog
Mixed: A Colorful Story

Mixed: A Colorful Story

by Chung, Arree / Henry Holt & Company

The reds, the yellows, and the blues all think they're the best in this vibrant, thought-provoking picture book from Arree Chung, with a message of acceptance and unity. In the beginning, there were three colors . . .Reds, Yellows, and Blues.All special in their own ways, all living in harmony--until one day, a Red says "Reds are the best " and starts a color kerfuffle. When the colors decide to separate, is there anything that can change their minds?A Yellow, a Blue, and a never-before-seen color might just save the day in this inspiring book about color, tolerance, and embracing…

Check Our Catalog