New Arrivals: Chapter Books

Search

Search form

In the Deep Blue Sea: Jack and the Geniuses Book #2

In the Deep Blue Sea: Jack and the Geniuses Book #2

by Nye, Bill / Harry N. Abrams

Jack, his genius siblings Ava and Matt, and Dr. Hank Witherspoon visit the Hawaiian island home of technology billionaire Ashley Hawking, who with engineer Rosa Morris has built a revolutionary electricity plant that harvests energy from the deep ocean. But someone is sabotaging the project.…

Check Our Catalog
Lost in the Jungle: Jack and the Geniuses Book #3

Lost in the Jungle: Jack and the Geniuses Book #3

by Nye, Bill / Amulet Books

Famed inventor Henry "Hank" Witherspoon has gone missing, and it's up to Jack and his brilliant siblings, Ava and Matt, to find him. At Hank's ransacked lab, the siblings discover clues to the project he's been working on--a new way to generate and store electricity, inspired by the electric eels of the Amazon. The kids travel deep into the Amazon jungle, following a series of clues Hank has left. Relying on genius, cunning, and new technology, the kids overcome strange creatures, a raging river, and some very clever foes to find their friend and protect his big idea. Like volumes one and two, Lost in the Jungle features a glossary of terms and an experiment kids can do…

Check Our Catalog
Frazzled: Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom

Frazzled: Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom

by Vivat, Booki / HarperCollins

An instant New York Times bestseller, Booki Vivat's Frazzled is the first installment of a funny middle grade graphic novel series about a girl who is always in a tizzy."Hilarious." (NPR's All Things Considered)"Honest, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny. Fans of Smile and Diary of a Wimpy Kid will appreciate this debut." (Brightly.com)Meet Abbie Wu. Abbie is in crisis--and not just because she's starting middle school or because she's stuck in a family that doesn't quite get her or because everyone seems to have a Thing except her. Abbie Wu is always in crisis.From author and professional doodler Booki Vivat, Frazzled dives right into the mind of this hilariously…

Check Our Catalog
Frazzled #2: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes

Frazzled #2: Ordinary Mishaps and Inevitable Catastrophes

by Vivat, Booki / HarperCollins

In her second tumultuous misadventure, Abbie Wu tackles more unbelievably unfair and calamitous middle-school days. From facing locker thieves and battling diabolical cats to having absolutely no idea what to build for her science project, Abbie Wu is still in perpetual…

Check Our Catalog
Cucumber Quest: The Ripple Kingdom

Cucumber Quest: The Ripple Kingdom

by D. G., Gigi / First Second

The quest to save Dreamside continues After a surprise attack at sea, Cucumber finds himself in the Ripple Kingdom, home to white sand, blue waves . . . oh yeah, and the giant, terrible squid monster holding Almond and Sir Carrot captive. Can our so-called "legendary hero" rescue his companions from the nefarious Splashmaster?Nah, probably not.Good thing Princess Nautilus is here With her wit, charm, and positive attitude, there's no way they can lose. But saving the day won't be as simple as it seems once a 500,000-year-old secret comes to light . . .Adapted from Gigi D.G.'s popular webcomic series of the same name, Cucumber Quest: The Ripple Kingdom is the second book of…

Check Our Catalog
Genevieve's War

Genevieve's War

by Giff, Patricia Reilly / Holiday House

Thirteen-year-old American girl Genevieve has spent the summer of 1939 at her grandmother's farm in Alsace, France. Then she makes an impulsive choice: to stay in France. It proves to be a dangerous decision. World War II erupts. The Nazis conquer Alsace and deport the Jews and others. A frightening German officer commandeers a room in Meme's farmhouse. And when Gen's friend Remi commits an act of sabotage, Gen is forced to hide him in the attic--right above the Nazi officer's head. Genevieve's War is a gripping story that brings the war in occupied France vividly to life. It is a companion work to Lily's Crossing, a Newbery Honor…

Check Our Catalog
The Quest of the Cubs (Bears of the Ice #1)

The Quest of the Cubs (Bears of the Ice #1)

by Lasky, Kathryn / Scholastic Press

For generations, the noble polar bears have ruled the Northern Kingdoms. But now, their society is on the brink of collapse. A group of power-hungry bears has seized control, and darkness is creeping across the snow.Cubs First and Second don't know any of this. Although they're twins, they couldn't be more different. First loves imagining stories, while his daring sister, Second, wants to live them.When their mother is taken prisoner, the cubs' world falls apart. They know they have to rescue her, but how can two cubs who've barely learned to hunt survive a treacherous journey across the ice? Their only chance is to learn to trust each other and--even more…

Check Our Catalog
Almost Paradise

Almost Paradise

by Shofner, Corabel / Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr)

A heartfelt debut about a spunky girl determined to save her family and find her way home.Twelve-year-old Ruby Clyde Henderson's life changes the day her mother's boyfriend holds up a convenience store, and her mother is wrongly jailed for assisting with the crime. Ruby and her pet pig, Bunny, find their way to her estranged Aunt Eleanor's home. Aunt Eleanor is an ornery nun who lives in the midst of a peach orchard on Paradise Ranch. With a little patience, she and Ruby begin to get along, but Eleanor has secrets of her own--secrets that might mean more hard times for Ruby. It's not going to be easy for Ruby Clyde and Eleanor to heal old wounds, face the past, and learn…

Check Our Catalog
Just Dance

Just Dance

by MacLachlan, Patricia / Margaret K. McElderry Books

On a farm in the middle of the prairie, 10-year-old Sylvie struggles to understand why her mother gave up singing on stage while she sets off on an adventure of her own as the town reporter. Newbery Medalist MacLachlan presents a lyrical coming-of-age story. 5 1/2 x 8…

Check Our Catalog
5 Worlds Book 2: The Cobalt Prince

5 Worlds Book 2: The Cobalt Prince

by Siegel, Mark / Random House Books for Young Readers

R. J. Palacio, #1 New York Times bestselling author of WONDER, hails this adventure series as "Mind-blowingly beautiful. . . . A must-read."Think Star Wars meets Avatar: The Last Airbender 5 Worlds. 3 Unlikely Heroes. 1 Epic Battle for the Galaxy Oona Lee surprised everyone--including herself--when she lit the first beacon to save the Five Worlds from extinction. Can she light the other four beacons in time? Next stop, Toki On the blue planet, Oona must face the sister who left her, and bring to light the Cobalt Prince's dark secrets. Meanwhile, An Tzu is fading away as his mysterious illness gets worse. Will it stop him from joining the fight? Or will his unique magic be just what…

Check Our Catalog
The Penderwicks at Last

The Penderwicks at Last

by Birdsall, Jeanne / Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

The finale you've all been waiting for: The Penderwicks at Last is the final, flawless installment in the modern classic series from National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author Jeanne Birdsall Nine years, five older siblings, a few beloved dogs, and an endless array of adventures--these are the things that have shaped Lydia's journey since readers first met her in The Penderwicks in Spring. Now it's summertime, and eleven-year-old Lydia is dancing at the bus stop, waiting for big sister Batty to get home from college. This is a very important dance and a very important wait because the two youngest sisters are about to arrive home to find out that the…

Check Our Catalog
Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans

Samantha Spinner and the Super-Secret Plans

by Ginns, Russell / Delacorte Press

Get ready for round-the-world adventure with Sam Spinner and her brother Nipper in the first book in a new hilarious, puzzle-packed series filled with super-secret messages Perfect for fans of Escape From Mr. Lemoncello's Library and classics like Holes. Samantha Spinner's uncle Paul disappeared, and here's what he left: * Samantha's sister got a check for $2,400,000,000. * Samantha's brother got the New York Yankees. * And Samantha got a rusty red umbrella with a tag hanging off its worn handle. The tag says "Watch out for the RAIN." Thanks a lot, Uncle Paul. After all the strawberry waffles, stories, and puzzles they've shared, how could he just leave…

Check Our Catalog
Max Tilt: Fire the Depths

Max Tilt: Fire the Depths

by Lerangis, Peter / HarperCollins

A new trilogy from "New York Times bestselling author Lerangis begins. After Max Tilt discovers an unfinished, unpublished manuscript written by his great-great-great-grandfather, Jules Verne, Max learns everything he wrote was fact, not fiction, and that the book holds the key to something incredibly…

Check Our Catalog
Under Locker and Key

Under Locker and Key

by Hymas, Allison K. / Aladdin Paperbacks

Eleven-year-old Jeremy Wilderson teams up with his rival crime fighter to stop the stealing spree that's wreaking havoc on Scottsville Middle School in this action-packed MAX novel. Jeremy Wilderson is not a thief. In fact, he is his middle school's one and only retrieval specialist. Confiscated cell phones, stolen lunch money--he'll discretely retrieve it before the last bell rings. Business is good, and if it weren't for the meddling of preteen private investigator Becca Mills, he'd be happier than a gym teacher on dodgeball day. But a new job shatters his comfortable lifestyle. Now, thanks to Jeremy, the master key to the schools' lockers is in the hands of…

Check Our Catalog