New Arrivals: Chapter Books

Search

Search form

Horizon, Book 4

Horizon, Book 4

by Anderson, M. T. / Scholastic Inc.

The journey through the rift becomes even rockier as the survivors are forced to take to the water, crossing a vast deepwater basin on improvised boats. To make it, Molly and the others must work together, but a rift of a different kind is forming among the survivors. If they aren't careful, it could eat them alive. New York Times bestselling author and National Book Award winner M.T. Anderson (Feed) helms this heart-pounding voyage in the epic survival series begun by Scott Westerfeld (Uglies). Bonus: Play the action-packed HORIZON game for free on your browser, tablet, or phone. Each book in the series unlocks exclusive rewards. Do you have what ittakes to survive?…

Check Our Catalog
A Warp in Time (Horizon, Book 3)

A Warp in Time (Horizon, Book 3)

by Watson, Jude / Scholastic Inc.

The harrowing tale of survival and suspicion takes its most dramatic turn yet when Molly, Yoshi, and the rest discover that there are more than just monsters in the rift. There are other kids, too... The seven-book mega-series begun by Scott Westerfeld (Uglies) reaches a pivotal turning point as only New York Times bestseller and National Book Award winner Jude Watson could deliver Bonus: Play the action-packed HORIZON game for free on your browser, tablet, or phone. Each book in the series unlocks exclusive rewards. Do you have what it takes to survive?…

Check Our Catalog
My Father's Words

My Father's Words

by MacLachlan, Patricia / Katherine Tegen Books

Patricia MacLachlan, beloved author of the Newbery Medal-winning Sarah, Plain and Tall, has crafted another lyrical and touching novel for young readers about finding hope after the loss of a loved one.Declan O'Brien always had a gentle word to share, odd phrases he liked to repeat, and songs to sing while he played basketball. His favorite song was "Dona Nobis Pacem, " "Grant Us Peace." His family loved him deeply and always knew they were loved in return. But a terrible accident one day changes their lives forever, and Fiona and Finn O'Brien are left without a father. Their mother is at a loss. What words are there to guide them through such overwhelming grief?At the suggestion…

Check Our Catalog
You Don't Know Everything, Jilly P!

You Don't Know Everything, Jilly P!

by Gino, Alex / Scholastic Press

Jilly thinks she's figured out how life works. But when her sister, Emma, is born deaf, she realizes how much she still has to learn. The world is going to treat Jilly, who is white and hearing, differently from Emma, just as it will treat them both differently from their Black cousins. A big fantasy reader, Jilly makes a connection online withanother fantasy fan, Derek, who is a Deaf, Black ASL user. She goes to Derek for help with Emma but doesn't always know the best way or time to ask for it. As she and Derek meet in person, have some really fun conversations, and become friends, Jilly makes some mistakes . . . but comes to understand that it's up to her, not Derek to…

Check Our Catalog
Knights vs. Dinosaurs

Knights vs. Dinosaurs

by Phelan, Matt / Greenwillow Books

Renowned for their courage, their chivalry, and their ability to fight mythical creatures, the Knights of the Round Table must face their most dangerous opponents yet--DINOSAURS This heavily illustrated middle grade novel from award-winning author and artist Matt Phelan is a hilarious, rip-roaring tale of derring-do perfect for reluctant readers and fans of How to Train Your Dragon and The Terrible Two. Let me tell you a secret about the Knights of the Round Table: they don't have much to do. The realm is at peace and dragons are few and far between. So Merlin decides to send the knights out on a real adventure to a world filled with the most terrible lizards of all: DINOSAURS Knights…

Check Our Catalog
Inkling

Inkling

by Oppel, Kenneth / Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

"Astounding"--New York Times Book ReviewA brilliantly funny story about how a little ink splot changes a family forever. Perfect for those who love Hoot, Holes, or Frindle and sure to be a hit with kids everywhere The Rylance family is stuck. Dad's got writer's block. Ethan promised to illustrate a group project at school--even though he can't draw. Sarah's still pining for a puppy. And they all miss Mom. Enter Inkling. Inkling begins life in Mr. Rylance's sketchbook. But one night the ink of his drawings runs together--and then leaps off the page This small burst of creativity is about to change everything. Ethan finds him first. Inkling has absorbed a couple…

Check Our Catalog
Backyard Bears: Conservation, Habitat Changes, and the Rise of Urban Wildlife

Backyard Bears: Conservation, Habitat Changes, and the Rise of Urban Wildlife

by Cherrix, Amy / Houghton Mifflin

North Carolina's black bears were once a threatened species, but now their numbers are rising in and around Asheville. But what happens when conservation efforts for a species are so successful that there's a boom in the population? Can humans and bears live compatibly? What are the long-term effects for the bears? Author Amy Cherrix follows the scientists who, in cooperation with local citizen scientists, are trying to answer to these questions and more. Part field science, part conservation science, Backyard Bears looks at black bears--and other animals around the globe--who are rapidly becoming our neighbors in urban and suburban areas.What happens when conservation efforts for…

Check Our Catalog
The Phantom Tower

The Phantom Tower

by Graff, Keir / G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

Twin brothers discover their new home is also a portal--for an hour a day--to a parallel dimension in this rollicking middle-grade adventure, perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society Colm and Mal are twins so identical their own mom can't tell them apart, but they're different in just about every other way. Mal's a pragmatist while Colm's a dreamer, and they bicker and battle constantly. Neither brother is excited to be moving to Chicago for a fresh start with their mom just after their dad's death. But nothing cures homesickness like intrigue--and their new home, Brunhild Tower, has plenty of it: mysterious elderly neighbors who warn against wandering…

Check Our Catalog
Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves

Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves

by Shurtliff, Liesl / Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

From the New York Times bestselling author of Rump, comes the true story behind another unlikely hero: a grumpy dwarf who gets tangled up in Snow White's feud with the wicked queen. Ever since he was a dwarfling, Borlen (nicknamed "Grump") has dreamed of visiting The Surface, so when opportunity knocks, he leaves his cavern home behind. At first, life aboveground is a dream come true. Queen Elfrieda Veronika Ingrid Lenore (E.V.I.L.) is the best friend Grump always wanted, feeding him all the rubies he can eat and allowing him to rule at her side in exchange for magic and information. But as time goes on, Grump starts to suspect that Queen E.V.I.L. may not be as nice as she seems. . . .…

Check Our Catalog
Toaff's Way

Toaff's Way

by Voigt, Cynthia / Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

Meet Toaff: a lovable squirrel, and new standout character, searching for a place to call home in this gem of a story by a Newbery Medal-winning author. Toaff is a small squirrel full of big questions. Why must I stay away from the human's house? Why shouldn't I go beyond the pine trees? Why do we fight with the red squirrels across the drive? His sister shrugs--that's just the way things are. His brother bullies--because I said so. And the older squirrels scold--too many questions Can Toaff really be the only one to wonder why? When a winter storm separates him from his family, Toaff must make his own way in the world. It's a world filled with danger--from foxes and…

Check Our Catalog
Lions and Liars

Lions and Liars

by Beasley, Kate / Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr)

Frederick Frederickson has a food-chain theory about life. There are lions, like the school bully. Gazelles, like the bullied kids. There are meerkats, and the fleas that live on the butts of meerkats. Frederick's a flea.Fifth grade is off to a terrible start when Frederick is sent to a disciplinary camp for troublesome boys. His fellow troop mates--Nosebleed, Specs, The Professor, and little-yet-lethal Ant Bite--are terrifying. But in between trust-building exercises and midnight escape attempts, a tenuous friendship grows between them. Which is lucky, because a Category 5 hurricane is coming and everyone will have to work together--lions and fleas alike--to survive Kate Beasley…

Check Our Catalog
The Adventures of a Girl Called Bicycle

The Adventures of a Girl Called Bicycle

by Uss, Christina / Margaret Ferguson Books

Selected for the 2019-2020 Texas Bluebonnet Award Master ListA Kirkus Reviews Best Book of the YearA determined 12-year-old girl bikes across the country in this quirky and charming debut middle grade novel. Introverted Bicycle has lived most of her life at the Mostly Silent Monastery in Washington, D.C. When her guardian, Sister Wanda, announces that Bicycle is going to attend a camp where she will learn to make friends, Bicycle says no way and sets off on her bike for San Francisco to meet her idol, a famous cyclist, certain he will be her first true friend. Who knew that a ghost would haunt her handlebars and that she would have to contend with bike-hating dogs, a bike-loving horse,…

Check Our Catalog