New Arrivals: Chapter Books

Search

Search form

The Wild Robot Escapes

The Wild Robot Escapes

by Brown, Peter / Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

An instant New York Times bestseller The sequel to the bestselling The Wild Robot, by award-winning author Peter Brown Shipwrecked on a remote, wild island, Robot Roz learned from the unwelcoming animal inhabitants and adapted to her surroundings--but can she survive the challenges of the civilized world and find her way home to Brightbill and the island?From bestselling and award-winning author and illustrator Peter Brown comes a heartwarming and action-packed sequel to his New York Times bestselling The Wild Robot, about what happens when nature and technology…

Check Our Catalog
Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble

Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble

by Meriano, Anna / Walden Pond Press

"A charming and delectably sweet debut. Mischief, friendship, and a whole lot of heart--Love Sugar Magic has it all." --Zoraida C rdova, award-winning author of the Brooklyn Brujas seriesLeonora Logro o's family owns the most beloved bakery in Rose Hill, Texas, spending their days conjuring delicious cookies and cakes for any occasion. And no occasion is more important than the annual Dia de los Muertos festival.Leo hopes that this might be the year that she gets to help prepare for the big celebration--but, once again, she is told she's too young. Sneaking out of school and down to the bakery, she discovers that her mother, aunt, and four older sisters have in fact been keeping a…

Check Our Catalog
Tumble & Blue

Tumble & Blue

by Beasley, Cassie / Dial Books

From the "New York Times"-bestselling author of "Circus Mirandus" comes the magic-infused story of a golden gator, two cursed kids, and how they take their destinies into their own…

Check Our Catalog
Molly & Pim and the Millions of Stars

Molly & Pim and the Millions of Stars

by Murray, Martine / Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers

For fans of Katherine Rundell's Rooftoppers comes a story about mothers and daughters and magical trees that Rebecca Stead calls "an utter delight." All Molly wants is to be normal like her friend Ellen Palmer. Ellen, with her neat braids and a tidy house and a mother and father who are home for dinner every night. But Molly's mom spends her mornings tramping through the woods, looking for ingredients for her potions. Their house is not neat, and their rooster, the Gentleman, runs wild in their yard. And it is the Gentleman that angers their grumpy neighbors, the Grimshaws. So Molly's mom makes a potion that will grow a tree between their houses. When Molly's mom…

Check Our Catalog
The Song from Somewhere Else

The Song from Somewhere Else

by Harrold, A. F. / Bloomsbury U.S.A. Children's Books

From the author of the critically acclaimed The Imaginary comes a powerful story about friendship in the vein of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman.A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017 A Wall Street Journal Best Book of 2017Frank thought her summer couldn't get any worse--until big, weird, smelly Nick Underbridge rescues her from a bully, and she winds up at his house.Frank quickly realizes there's more to Nick than meets the eye. When she's at his house, she hears the strangest, most beautiful music, music which leads her to a mysterious, hidden door. Beyond the door are amazing creatures that she never even dreamed could be real. For the first time in forever, Frank feels…

Check Our Catalog
Baby Monkey, Private Eye

Baby Monkey, Private Eye

by Selznick, Brian / Scholastic Press

Who is Baby Monkey? He is a baby. He is a monkey. He has a job. He is Baby Monkey, Private Eye Lost jewels? Missing pizza? Stolen spaceship? Baby Monkey can help... if he can put on his pants Baby Monkey's adventures come to life in an exciting blend of picture book, beginning reader, and graphic novel. With pithy text and over 120 black and white drawings accented with red, it is ideal for sharing aloud and for emerging readers. Hooray for Baby Monkey…

Check Our Catalog
Fault Lines in the Constitution: The Framers, Their Fights, and the Flaws That Affect Us Today

Fault Lines in the Constitution: The Framers, Their Fights, and the Flaws That Affect Us Today

by Levinson, Cynthia / Peachtree Publishers

An award-winning husband-and-wife team takes readers back to the creation of Constitution to discuss how such contemporary political problems came about through haggling in an overheated room in 1787, and why the United States is still experiencing the ramifications. Illustrations. 7 x…

Check Our Catalog
Frank Einstein and the Space-Time Zipper (Frank Einstein Series #6): Book Six

Frank Einstein and the Space-Time Zipper (Frank Einstein Series #6): Book Six

by Scieszka, Jon / Harry N. Abrams

Frank Einstein (kid-genius, scientist, and inventor) and his friends invite their fans to explore secrets of the universe in this epic conclusion to the "New York Times"-bestselling and award-winning series.…

Check Our Catalog
Science Comics: Flying Machines: How the Wright Brothers Soared

Science Comics: Flying Machines: How the Wright Brothers Soared

by Wilgus, Alison / First Second

A National Science Teachers Association Best STEM Books of 2017Take to the skies with Flying Machines Follow the famous aviators from their bicycle shop in Dayton, Ohio, to the fields of North Carolina where they were to make their famous flights. In an era of dirigibles and hot air balloons, the Wright Brothers were among the first innovators of heavier than air flight. But in the hotly competitive international race toward flight, Orville and Wilbur were up against a lot more than bad weather. Mechanical failures, lack of information, and even other aviators complicated the Wright Brothers' journey. Though they weren't as wealthy as their European counterparts, their impressive…

Check Our Catalog
Dogs: From Predator to Protector

Dogs: From Predator to Protector

by Hirsch, Andy / First Second

Readers are invited to join a friendly mutt on a journey to discover the secret origin of dogs, how genetics and evolution shape species, and where in the world his favorite ball bounced off to in this edition of Science Comics. Full…

Check Our Catalog
Winterhouse, Book 1

Winterhouse, Book 1

by Guterson, Ben / Henry Holt & Company

An enchanting urban fantasy middle-grade debut--the first book in a trilogy--set in a magical hotel full of secrets.Orphan Elizabeth Somers's malevolent aunt and uncle ship her off to the ominous Winterhouse Hotel, owned by the peculiar Norbridge Falls. Upon arrival, Elizabeth quickly discovers that Winterhouse has many charms--most notably its massive library. It's not long before she locates a magical book of puzzles that will unlock a mystery involving Norbridge and his sinister family. But the deeper she delves into the hotel's secrets, the more Elizabeth starts to realize that she is somehow connected to Winterhouse. As fate would have it, Elizabeth is the only person…

Check Our Catalog
Out of the Wild Night

Out of the Wild Night

by Balliett, Blue / Scholastic Press

Ghosts are alive on the island of Nantucket. You can hear them in the wind and in the creaks of the old homes. They want to be remembered. And, even more, they want to protect what was once theirs. The ghosts have chosen a few local kids to save the island against the adults who would do it harm. But the kids can't be sure how the ghosts are going to act. Things tend to disappear when ghosts are around. People tend to get trapped - especially if they're up to no good. Only the kids can make things right . . . if the ghosts will let them.Out of the Wild Night is master storyteller Blue Balliett at her spooky best, a spellbinding tale about the haunted residents of a very special…

Check Our Catalog