New Arrivals: Chapter Books

Search

Search form

All's Faire in Middle School

All's Faire in Middle School

by Jamieson, Victoria / Dial Books

From the author of the Newbery Honor winner "Roller Girl" comes a heartwarming graphic novel about starting middle school, surviving an embarrassing family, and life at the Renaissance…

Check Our Catalog
The Sands of Shark Island

The Sands of Shark Island

by McCall Smith, Alexander / Delacorte Press

Imagine going to school on a boat The rip-roaring excitement continues in the second volume of this adventure-mystery series set on the high seas, from the author of the beloved No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Ben and Fee MacTavish and their schoolmates on board the School Ship Tobermory are headed thousands of miles from their base in Mull to a small island in the Caribbean. They will learn extraordinary details about Captain Macbeth's past and come face to face with modern-day pirates. The students and crew aboard the Tobermory will have to band together and use their wits to escape harm and overcome the evil…

Check Our Catalog
The Hunt for the 100th Key (Geronimo Stilton Special Edition)

The Hunt for the 100th Key (Geronimo Stilton Special Edition)

by Stilton, Geronimo / Scholastic Paperbacks

My sister, Thea, had discovered an enormouse old castle built by the founder of New Mouse City She and Trap dragged me along with them to explore it. Inside, we found one hundred keys... but only ninety-nine doors to unlock. What mysterious room did the hundredth key open? It was up to us to find it and reveal its secrets BONUS After the story, read an extra Mini Mystery adventure and jokes galore…

Check Our Catalog
Lemons

Lemons

by Savage, Melissa / Crown Books for Young Readers

The search for Bigfoot gets juicy in this funny and touching story that's perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo's Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate's Crenshaw Lemonade Liberty Witt's mama always told her: When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But Lem can't possibly make lemonade out of her new life in Willow Creek, California--the Bigfoot Capital of the World--where she's forced to live with a grandfather she's never met after her mother passes away. Then she meets eleven-year-old Tobin Sky, the CEO of Bigfoot Detectives Inc., who is the sole Bigfoot investigator for their small town. After he invites Lem to be his assistant for the summer,…

Check Our Catalog
Hyacinth and the Secrets Beneath

Hyacinth and the Secrets Beneath

by Weinstein, Jacob Sager / Random House Books for Young Readers

The hilarious first book in a middle-grade fantasy trilogy about the magical rivers that run through the sewers of London and shape history in ways you'd never learn in school. Magic is real. History is a big, fat lie. Before Hyacinth Hayward moves from Illinois to London, she reads up on the city's history. Too bad for her. Because the books are wrong. The truth is, London was built on magical rivers, and all the major events in its past have been about people trying to control the magic. Hyacinth discovers this when her mom is kidnapped. In the chase to get her back, Hyacinth encounters a giant intelligent pig in a bathing suit, a boy with amnesia, an adorable tosher (whatever…

Check Our Catalog
The Black Dragon

The Black Dragon

by Sedgwick, Julian / Carolrhoda Books

Twelve-year-old Danny Woo had an unusual childhood. His parents were the star performers in the Mysterium circusand they taught Danny plenty of tricks. But his parents' skills couldn't save them from dying in a suspicious fire. Now Danny and his aunt Laura, a journalist, are heading to Hong Kong so Laura can research the dangerous gang called the Black Dragon. Almost immediately, she's kidnapped and Danny realizes that the gang may be connected to his family's past. With the help of an old friend, Danny tries to free his aunt, and he uses every trick he knows to face off against the international criminal network that might be responsible for his parents'…

Check Our Catalog
Dive! World War II Stories of Sailors & Submarines in the Pacific: The Incredible Story of U.S. Submarines in WWII

Dive! World War II Stories of Sailors & Submarines in the Pacific: The Incredible Story of U.S. Submarines in WWII

by Hopkinson, Deborah / Scholastic Press

Dive World War II Stories of Sailors & Submarines in the Pacific tells the incredible story of America's little known "war within a war" -- US submarine warfare during World War II. Following the attack on Pearl Harbor, the US entered World War II in December 1941 with only 44 Naval submarines -- many of them dating from the 1920s. With the Pacific battleship fleet decimated after Pearl Harbor, it was up to the feisty and heroic sailors aboard the US submarines to stop the Japanese invasion across the Pacific. Including breakouts highlighting submarine life and unsung African-American and female war heroes, award-winning author Deborah Hopkinson uses first-person accounts, archival…

Check Our Catalog
Brave Red, Smart Frog: A New Book of Old Tales

Brave Red, Smart Frog: A New Book of Old Tales

by Jenkins, Emily / Candlewick Press (MA)

Step into a wintry forest where seven iconic fairy tales unfold, retold with keen insight and touches of humor. Charming illustrations by Eason add whimsical details that enhance every new…

Check Our Catalog
Kid Beowulf: The Song of Roland

Kid Beowulf: The Song of Roland

by Fajardo, Alexis E. / Andrews McMeel Publishing

Inspired by epics of old, "Kid Beowulf" is a graphic novel series following the journey of twin brothers Beowulf and Grendel as they encounter other epic heroes from Europe, the Middle East, and…

Check Our Catalog
The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw

The Drawing Lesson: A Graphic Novel That Teaches You How to Draw

by Crilley, Mark / Watson-Guptill

Read This Comic and Start Drawing Today Nominated for a 2017 Eisner AwardFor the first time ever, drawing instructor and graphic novelist Mark Crilley brings his easy-to-follow artistic instruction to aspiring artists in the form of a comic book, providing you with a one-of-a-kind how-to experience. In The Drawing Lesson, you'll meet David--a young boy who wants nothing more than to learn how to draw. Luckily for David, he's just met Becky--his helpful drawing mentor. Page by page, Becky teaches David (and you ) about the essential fundamentals that artists need in order to master drawing, all in a unique visual format. In panel after panel, Crilley provides lessons on shading,…

Check Our Catalog
Malala: Activist for Girls' Education

Malala: Activist for Girls' Education

by Frier, Raphaelle / Charlesbridge Publishing

Malala Yousafzai stood up to the Taliban and fought for the right for all girls to receive an education. When she was just fifteen-years old, the Taliban attempted to kill Malala, but even this did not stop her activism. At age eighteen Malala became the youngest person to be awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for her work to ensure the education of all children around the world. Malala's courage and conviction will inspire young readers in this beautifully illustrated…

Check Our Catalog
Schomburg: The Man Who Built a Library

Schomburg: The Man Who Built a Library

by Weatherford, Carole Boston / Candlewick Press (MA)

In luminous paintings and arresting poems, two of children's literature's top African-American scholars track Arturo Schomburg's quest to correct history, leading to the creation of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in the New York Public Library. Full…

Check Our Catalog
Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel

Anne of Green Gables: A Graphic Novel

by Thummler, Brenna / Andrews McMeel Publishing

Schoolyard rivalries. Baking disasters. Puffed sleeves. Explore the violet vales and glorious green of Avonlea in this spirited adaptation. The spirit of Anne is alive and well in Mariah Marsden's crisp adaptation, and it's a thrill to watch as the beloved orphan rushes headlong through Brenna Thummler's heavenly landscapes. Together Marsden and Thummler conjure all the magic and beauty of Green Gables. Like Anne herself, you won't want to leave. -- Brian Selznick, author/illustrator of "The Invention of Hugo Cabret" and "The Marvels" The magic of L.M. Montgomery's treasured classic is reimagined in a whimsically-illustrated graphic novel adaptation perfect for…

Check Our Catalog